Plug n Play decoders.

User avatar
Steve M
Posts: 1408
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:29 pm
Location: Rochester, Kent
Contact:

Re: Plug n Play decoders.

#11

Post by Steve M » Wed Mar 18, 2020 1:22 pm

That particular model has been an absolute nightmare. I had the same trouble finding a decoder that would fit - I did find one but can’t remember who made it. Even then the loco proved to be a very poor runner so I returned it direct to Hornby for a refund.
On the other hand I had no issues with the Oxford Rail version.
Deja Moo: The feeling that you've heard this bull before. ;)

User avatar
bulleidboy
Posts: 712
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:30 pm
Location: Basingstoke, Hants
Contact:

Re: Plug n Play decoders.

#12

Post by bulleidboy » Wed Mar 18, 2020 1:41 pm

I've got a number of tank loco's Steve, that have still to see the light of day! I'll dig something out. Barry
[b "No pleasure is worth giving up for the sake of two more years in a geriatric home in Weston-super-Mare" - Kingsley Amis[/b]

User avatar
bulleidboy
Posts: 712
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:30 pm
Location: Basingstoke, Hants
Contact:

Re: Plug n Play decoders.

#13

Post by bulleidboy » Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:16 pm

Well I've tried two of the five Hattons decoders I bought , and there fine - as long as the loco is going forwards - there is nothing in reverse! I'll try the other three and see what happens. May be they do have a problem with Hornby DCC controllers? Also the first one wouldn't accept a four digit code.
[b "No pleasure is worth giving up for the sake of two more years in a geriatric home in Weston-super-Mare" - Kingsley Amis[/b]

User avatar
Steve M
Posts: 1408
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:29 pm
Location: Rochester, Kent
Contact:

Re: Plug n Play decoders.

#14

Post by Steve M » Thu Mar 26, 2020 6:27 pm

Barry, have you tried the factory reset on CV8?
Also maybe CV29 for the long address?
Just thinking out loud as I use a Prodigy and have had no issues with the Hatton’s decoders.
Deja Moo: The feeling that you've heard this bull before. ;)

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 374
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:19 pm
Location: The Original Washington, UK
Contact:

Re: Plug n Play decoders.

#15

Post by IanS » Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:01 pm

bulleidboy wrote:
Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:16 pm
... May be they do have a problem with Hornby DCC controllers? Also the first one wouldn't accept a four digit code.
Just a thought - which DCC controller are you using? The Select doesn't do 4 digit codes, only the Elite does from the Hornby range.

User avatar
Steve M
Posts: 1408
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:29 pm
Location: Rochester, Kent
Contact:

Re: Plug n Play decoders.

#16

Post by Steve M » Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:06 pm

I think Barry uses the elite and I don't think there are problems with that controller and some decoders - I'ĺl be proved wrong now. :D
Deja Moo: The feeling that you've heard this bull before. ;)

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:33 am
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Plug n Play decoders.

#17

Post by RAF96 » Fri Mar 27, 2020 9:47 am

IanS wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:01 pm
bulleidboy wrote:
Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:16 pm
... May be they do have a problem with Hornby DCC controllers? Also the first one wouldn't accept a four digit code.
Just a thought - .... doesn't do 4 digit codes, only the Elite does from the Hornby range.
Elink also handles four digit addresses.
All Hornby kit is tested with many other make items to ensure compatibility.

User avatar
bulleidboy
Posts: 712
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:30 pm
Location: Basingstoke, Hants
Contact:

Re: Plug n Play decoders.

#18

Post by bulleidboy » Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:12 pm

Thanks for the replies. I'll have a look at the CV's - this will be new to me - although I did reduce the sound on a loco by changing the CV. My controller is an Elite and it is v1.45.
[b "No pleasure is worth giving up for the sake of two more years in a geriatric home in Weston-super-Mare" - Kingsley Amis[/b]

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:33 am
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Plug n Play decoders.

#19

Post by RAF96 » Fri Mar 27, 2020 9:23 pm

bulleidboy wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:12 pm
Thanks for the replies. I'll have a look at the CV's - this will be new to me - although I did reduce the sound on a loco by changing the CV. My controller is an Elite and it is v1.45.
You can adjust volume on the main track using Operate programming mode, but usually you will change CVs in Direct mode on a programming track.

User avatar
Steve M
Posts: 1408
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:29 pm
Location: Rochester, Kent
Contact:

Re: Plug n Play decoders.

#20

Post by Steve M » Fri Mar 27, 2020 10:04 pm

Barry, in case you don’t have this already, this is the ‘calculator’ for CV29 which covers dc enabled, long address and direction.

http://www.2mm.org.uk/articles/cv29%20calculator.htm
Deja Moo: The feeling that you've heard this bull before. ;)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests