Site appeance

Questions about using the site
Post Reply
brian1951
Site Admin
Posts: 675
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:52 pm
Location: Welsh Borders.
Contact:

Re: Site appeance

#1

Post by brian1951 » Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:03 am

Try logging out and then re-enter.

User avatar
RogerB
Site Admin
Posts: 983
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:17 pm
Location: Dorset
Contact:

Re: Site appeance

#2

Post by RogerB » Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:16 am

He's done that Brian. R-
All pets are therapy pets. Most are just working under cover.

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:19 pm
Location: The Original Washington, UK
Contact:

Re: Site appeance

#3

Post by IanS » Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:29 am

The oft used method of clearing cookies and history should do the trick. This sometimes happens with a poor connection and then the computer needs help to get back to 'normal'.

User avatar
cadman
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:37 pm
Location: Leighton Buzzard
Contact:

Re: Site appeance

#4

Post by cadman » Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:30 am

Have you tried using the free version of CCleaner.......I use it regularly to get rid of junk, temp files, memory dumps etc and to check the registry.......helps keep computer "clean"......HB

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 225
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:33 am
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Site appeance

#5

Post by RAF96 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 8:19 am

It happened to me this morning on the iPad (Safari) and I have seen similar proforma styles before on other forums. Today I noticed there was an ‘m’ in the www bit. Once amended out the forum loaded normally. Obviously some sort of draft (or maybe ? maintenance) site listing.
Rob

User avatar
Rog (RJ)
Site Admin
Posts: 432
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: South Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Site appeance

#6

Post by Rog (RJ) » Fri Oct 12, 2018 9:37 am

I think the m relates to mobile versions. Usually you can find a link to "Use desktop site" or similar, often at the bottom of the page.
I don't model anything in particular, I just play trains.
Why can't people spell "gauge" correctly?

User avatar
yelrow
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:54 pm
Location: Burgandy, France
Contact:

Re: Site appeance

#7

Post by yelrow » Fri Oct 12, 2018 3:43 pm

If you type % temp%, all temporary files are displayed, and can be deleted, very simple. john

User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Site appeance

#8

Post by Brian » Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:38 pm

If the site appearing correctly on another PC and to other users too, the problem has to be on the PC at your end. (Not had any issues myself!)
Try refreshing your browser and clear history and the cache. Consider download another free to use browser like Google Chrome.
I cant say what you may have done with your settings? But I would be very surprised if you can actually alter any setting that serious upset how the forum is viewed?.
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Site appeance

#9

Post by Brian » Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:03 pm

I'm totally convinced the problem is on you PC or connection somewhere.
I hop about this forum like a 'mad thing' and never have a problem.
I log in with either Google Chrome, which I prefer, or Firefox which I'm current using to type this via, and no effects you're seeing are being found!
No other users are reporting serious issues. So at this stage I really can't go to the hosting company with one report. A its intermittent, it may be a connection issue?? But that's really guessing!
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest