DC/DCC

User avatar
yelrow
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:54 pm
Location: Burgundy, France
Contact:

Re: DC/DCC

#11

Post by yelrow »

Switch would appear to solve most of the DC/DCC problems. However unless i am missing something, cant see how the two soldered points will work on DC, as both locos, will then run on one controller. Do i need to swap back 2 points each time.
User avatar
Stese
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:26 pm
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

Re: DC/DCC

#12

Post by Stese »

Do you mean the points are motorised and the motors are connected to a dcc accessory decoder?
Husband, Father, IT Guy, HO/OO Modeller.
User avatar
yelrow
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:54 pm
Location: Burgundy, France
Contact:

Re: DC/DCC

#13

Post by yelrow »

Yup,exactly that. Using DCControllers, both locos will respond to one controller,as points have been converted by soldering wire across underneath.
User avatar
IanS
Posts: 755
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:19 pm
Location: The Original Washington, UK
Contact:

Re: DC/DCC

#14

Post by IanS »

Easiest way I see to get round the problem of permanent connections (as created by the soldered connection) on points would be to place isolating switches on the frog outlets. When running the layout on DC the switches would be open (no contact) until that route is required and when on DCC the switches would be closed (continuity as required by DCC).

Unless I'm missing something :mrgreen:
User avatar
yelrow
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:54 pm
Location: Burgundy, France
Contact:

Re: DC/DCC

#15

Post by yelrow »

Ian’s, Thank you. Can they simply be on/off switches, which I have, or do I need to order isolation ones.
User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1581
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: DC/DCC

#16

Post by Brian »

There is no such thing as an "Isolation Switch". All switches when Off isolate!

Next.. What exactly do you mean by Soldered points?? If that means linking the outer Stock rail to inner Closure rail on each side then there should be no difference whether on DC or DCC, once the gaps in each Closure rails are opened up and so long as IRJs are fitted after the point, and some form of frog polarity switching is used.
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
User avatar
yelrow
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:54 pm
Location: Burgundy, France
Contact:

Re: DC/DCC

#17

Post by yelrow »

Brian, hi, before on my just DCC layout. i linked points with soldered wires, perfect. When on my new one i used same points with just DC, then on the 2 tracks, one controller moved both locos. Now with your suggested switch, wired up, When done, i wanted to stop the problem occurring when in DC mode. I have no insulated joiners fitted at this stage, as am running these 2 tracks as DCC. Hence my question. What would i need to stop this happening, when i switched to DC. So, is the solution to fit ins joiners, permanently, as this is the new bit in my equation. Sorry to sound confused, tis just that i am.
User avatar
IanS
Posts: 755
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:19 pm
Location: The Original Washington, UK
Contact:

Re: DC/DCC

#18

Post by IanS »

yelrow wrote: Wed Apr 14, 2021 6:23 pm Ian’s, Thank you. Can they simply be on/off switches, which I have, or do I need to order isolation ones.
Brian wrote: Wed Apr 14, 2021 8:29 pm There is no such thing as an "Isolation Switch". All switches when Off isolate!
My terminology may be a little off, but I was referring to switches that have an on/off setting - simple switches would do, as far as I can see.

It does depend on the type of point you're using. As you refer to having soldered I assume they are Hornby or Peco standard self-isolating points with plastic frogs. Under DC operation, when un-altered they allow you to run 2 (or more locos) independently or leave them parked in a siding. Once you've done the soldering they act similar to the non-isolating switches except the frog is plastic so you still may have a little problem with 0-4-0 locos. Somewhere you need to insert a break to allow locos to be isolated from the power in DC mode but be able to make a permanent connection when in DCC operation. My idea, for good or bad, would be to insert a simple break with an isolating track or manually cut the track. With an insulated rail joiner in place over the break have a switch that will be able to turn power on and off for that section. With an isolating track such as Hornby R618 in place you'd be able to park a loco in DC mode and leave it powered up in DCC mode.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests