HELP PLEASE - Which DPDT switch do I need?

Post Reply
The Sligo Rover
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 4:32 pm
Location: Chandlers Ford, Hampshire.
Contact:

HELP PLEASE - Which DPDT switch do I need?

#1

Post by The Sligo Rover »

Please can somebody advise which type of DPDT switch will I need to switch a Tortoise motor (analogue).
Is it a DPDT on-on switch and any recommendation on where is the best place to order one from?
User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1574
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: HELP PLEASE - Which DPDT switch do I need?

#2

Post by Brian »

Hi
Assuming you're using a 12 volt DC power supply, then a DPDT On-On switch is needed for Tortoise (and Cobalt analogue) stall motors.
To wire...
Feed the supplies power into the switches top pair of tabs, then link top tab left to bottom tab right and top tab right to bottom tab left. Feed the stall motor from the middle pair of switch tabs.
Suitable switches On-On DPDT are sold by many suppliers. I use Bitbox a lot and their SW035 Is the one to use with Stall motors. https://www.bitsbox.co.uk/index.php?mai ... cts_id=878 But of course there are many other suppliers too.

Image
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
User avatar
Stese
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:26 pm
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

Re: HELP PLEASE - Which DPDT switch do I need?

#3

Post by Stese »

hi,

as far as I can tell yes, use dpdt on-on switches.

bitsbox.co.uk are a good uk retailer for this type of switch. (no affliation with them)

Regards,

Steve
Husband, Father, IT Guy, HO/OO Modeller.
Tricky Dicky
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:49 pm
Contact:

Re: HELP PLEASE - Which DPDT switch do I need?

#4

Post by Tricky Dicky »

The Sligo Rover wrote: Sun Oct 18, 2020 6:35 pm
Is it a DPDT on-on switch and any recommendation on where is the best place to order one from?
Yes that is the type you need, you just need to decide between toggle, rocker or slide. Myself I would prefer a toggle as visually it easier to see which way it is set without using any other form of indication ie. LEDs

eBay and specialist electronics suppliers will probably be most cost effective.

Richard
The Sligo Rover
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 4:32 pm
Location: Chandlers Ford, Hampshire.
Contact:

Re: HELP PLEASE - Which DPDT switch do I need?

#5

Post by The Sligo Rover »

Thank you for that. Could you now point me in the direction of a suitable 12v power source please.
User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1574
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: HELP PLEASE - Which DPDT switch do I need?

#6

Post by Brian »

Opt for a Regulated 12 volt DC power supply. This means the 12 v is maintained regardless of loading (up to the maximum load), Output current 1.0Amp to 2.0Amp There is no need for anything larger as Tortoise and Cobalt stall motors draw very little current when operating and even less when stalled. These could also be used to power LED building/street/platform lighting as well.
eBay and Amazon have plenty. If you look for so called CCTV or LED power supplies these should all be regulated and they all come with a 2.1mm moulded DC plug. So onward connection can be via an in line connector socket or a panel mounted socket 2.1mm DC socket.
Examples below...
Link 1. 1.0Amp 12v DC power supply unit
Link 2. 2.0Amp PSU with included easy wire connector
Link 3. Amazon 2.0Amp PSU with easy wire connector
Link 4. 1.0A or 2.0Amp PSU and connector
Link 5. 2.1mm DC Chassis socket
Link 6. In-line 2.1mm socket with leads
Link 7. 2.1mm DC Socket for easy wire connection
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
The Sligo Rover
Posts: 154
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 4:32 pm
Location: Chandlers Ford, Hampshire.
Contact:

Re: HELP PLEASE - Which DPDT switch do I need?

#7

Post by The Sligo Rover »

Brilliant, thank you very much for all the guidance and help, I can now prepare a shopping list.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests