point motor capacitor

Post Reply
greatwestern
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:28 pm
Contact:

point motor capacitor

#1

Post by greatwestern » Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:39 pm

Bought a point capacitor unit, think it is Modelex, with no instructions.
Ready to lay track so how do you wire up ? .
There are 4 electric sockets on top of unit.
Thank's in advance

User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1012
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: point motor capacitor

#2

Post by Brian » Fri Oct 25, 2019 5:37 pm

Generally there should be two terminals marked as Input or 16V AC etc and two more marked as Output or + and - (Plus and minus). Sometimes marked on the underside!

You need ideally a 15 to 16 volt AC power supply at around 1.0 Amp connected directly to the two input terminals. It wont matter which way these two connect as they are AC.

The Positive (+) output connects to all the momentary point operation switches Common connections. The Negative (-) output runs out to the layout and connects to all solenoid point motor return wires. Each switch or lever will have two more terminals and these go to the motor coils one for each direction.
Ideally use 16/0.2mm wire throughout as a minimum.
Normally only one CDU is needed for the whole layout
Only use Momentary point levers such as the Peco PL26 or toggle switches that are Sprung to centre Off sometimes referenced as (On)-Off-(On) type where the bracketed On can't remain in that on position when the switch is released - It returns to the middle Off position. Two press to make non locking push buttons per point or Stud and Probe operation.

Note: A CDU does not work well with the Hornby R044 Black point lever due to its rather outdated internal design. But they will work with all other switching methods listed above.
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

greatwestern
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: point motor capacitor

#3

Post by greatwestern » Fri Oct 25, 2019 9:11 pm

Hi Brian,
All is well.
First points went down with motors attached.
Wired up to ring - + through capacitor wired as you said.
Worked first time by stud method.
Thank's again
Mike

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests