Houston - we have a problem!!!!!!!!!

User avatar
bulleidboy
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:30 pm
Location: Basingstoke, Hants
Contact:

Houston - we have a problem!!!!!!!!!

#1

Post by bulleidboy » Sat Oct 17, 2020 5:25 pm

I have just installed a 3v bus under my street and shops, and have wired the taxi lights and the belisha beacons - they all work - but everything is flashing in sinc. with the belisha beacons. I can give the belisha beacons their own power supply (pain :evil:) - but any ideas why this is happening? I was going to add the street lights and shop lighting to the same supply - may be not! BB
Tomorrow will be a good day. - Capt.Sir Tom Moore

User avatar
Walkingthedog
Posts: 2686
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:51 pm
Location: HAZLEMERE, BUCKS.
Contact:

Re: Houston - we have a problem!!!!!!!!!

#2

Post by Walkingthedog » Sat Oct 17, 2020 5:52 pm

Is the power going through the beacons on its way to everything else?
Nurse, the screens!

User avatar
bulleidboy
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:30 pm
Location: Basingstoke, Hants
Contact:

Re: Houston - we have a problem!!!!!!!!!

#3

Post by bulleidboy » Sat Oct 17, 2020 6:10 pm

No - that's what I don't understand - the beacons are, and will be, at the end of the line. It's a bit like putting a novelty flashing light bulb into a lamp at home, and the whole house is flashing.
Tomorrow will be a good day. - Capt.Sir Tom Moore

User avatar
Rog (RJ)
Site Admin
Posts: 616
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:49 pm
Location: South Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Houston - we have a problem!!!!!!!!!

#4

Post by Rog (RJ) » Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:04 pm

If the various lights are LEDs this can happen if they don't have resistors fitted. One set of lights (usually red LEDs) rob all the power.

User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1488
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Houston - we have a problem!!!!!!!!!

#5

Post by Brian » Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:09 pm

If the Beacons are not in series then it reads as though possibly the total load is exceeding the power supplies rating? Try removing the beacons and see if the other lights then stabilise
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

User avatar
bulleidboy
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:30 pm
Location: Basingstoke, Hants
Contact:

Re: Houston - we have a problem!!!!!!!!!

#6

Post by bulleidboy » Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:31 pm

I've disconnected the beacons and every thing is fine. Does this mean the beacons need a separate power supply?
Tomorrow will be a good day. - Capt.Sir Tom Moore

User avatar
Steve M
Posts: 1642
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:29 pm
Location: Rochester, Kent
Contact:

Re: Houston - we have a problem!!!!!!!!!

#7

Post by Steve M » Sat Oct 17, 2020 8:07 pm

I had a similar issue some years ago - solved by fitting each led with its own resistor. It was in the days when I tried using just one resistor for the whole lot.
I’m not a complete idiot, some pieces are missing. ;)

User avatar
bulleidboy
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:30 pm
Location: Basingstoke, Hants
Contact:

Re: Houston - we have a problem!!!!!!!!!

#8

Post by bulleidboy » Sat Oct 17, 2020 8:11 pm

Does it matter which wire (+/-) the resistors are attached to?
Tomorrow will be a good day. - Capt.Sir Tom Moore

User avatar
Steve M
Posts: 1642
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:29 pm
Location: Rochester, Kent
Contact:

Re: Houston - we have a problem!!!!!!!!!

#9

Post by Steve M » Sat Oct 17, 2020 9:16 pm

Barry it’s one or the other. :D

Try this:

http://led.linear1.org/led.wiz
I’m not a complete idiot, some pieces are missing. ;)

User avatar
bulleidboy
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:30 pm
Location: Basingstoke, Hants
Contact:

Re: Houston - we have a problem!!!!!!!!!

#10

Post by bulleidboy » Sat Oct 17, 2020 9:21 pm

Thanks Steve - I think that will be helpful. Barry
Tomorrow will be a good day. - Capt.Sir Tom Moore

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest