Platform Height

Help with layout scenics
Post Reply
station master
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:07 am
Location: North West
Contact:

Platform Height

#1

Post by station master »

Evening all,

What would be an accurate height of a station platform if one is modelling in OO gauge please?
User avatar
darkscot
Posts: 317
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Platform Height

#2

Post by darkscot »

From the top of the rail to the platform edge should be 12mm.
Many times the wrong train took me to the right place.
User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1573
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Platform Height

#3

Post by Brian »

Darkscot is correct for standard UK platforms (some are different!). All measurements are taken from rail top or rail insides faces and never from the ground or Baseboard on models.

This OO structure gauge may be helpful too? .. https://www.brian-lambert.co.uk/images/ ... 0gauge.jpg
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
station master
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:07 am
Location: North West
Contact:

Re: Platform Height

#4

Post by station master »

Thank you for the information, so if I am building a platform approx 14mm from the baseboard would give approx 12mm from top of rails ?
User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1573
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Platform Height

#5

Post by Brian »

If your track is Code 100 and laid directly onto the baseboard surface then you will need the height to be around 16mm. However, if you add anything under the track such as cork then that thickness will need adding on too.
Hence platform top height is taken from the rail top, which will differ depending on rail code and what's under the track. :D
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
User avatar
darkscot
Posts: 317
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Platform Height

#6

Post by darkscot »

Brian wrote: Fri Jun 18, 2021 11:08 am However, if you add anything under the track such as cork then that thickness will need adding on too.
I made up my platform with the track laid directly to the baseboard. Then later I decided to add cork underlay and now the height looks wrong, at least to me. I will raise the platform at some point, but for now it doesn't bother me too much.
Many times the wrong train took me to the right place.
User avatar
Walkingthedog
Posts: 3508
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:51 pm
Location: HAZLEMERE, BUCKS.
Contact:

Re: Platform Height

#7

Post by Walkingthedog »

Then you need to raise the platform by the thickness of the cork.
Nurse, the screens!
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests