An oopsie with Settrack.

Help with designing your track work
Post Reply
User avatar
andruec
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2020 11:01 am
Contact:

An oopsie with Settrack.

#1

Post by andruec »

I've been running stock to check out my track and discovered that my Queen Elizabeth 4-6-2 is a bit unhappy with the entrance to the first of my main sidings. To be fair there was an issue with a track join where a very short section of straight-ish rail links a curved section to a turnout and I think I've rectified that now but I noticed she was a bit unhappy with the turnouts themselves.

So I did some research and have discovered that Peco N Settrack turnouts are all first radius. The QE seems happy with the handful of other single turnouts on the layout but the entrances to this set of sidings have two turn outs joined back to back to get to the innermost. This is creating a longer section of first radius than just one turnout and seems to be a bit much for the old girl. The original plan called for the track to exit a curve then go straight into the first main siding turnout but I changed the plan a couple of weeks ago and now it passes over a secondary turnout that allows a loco to stop and reverse into a stub siding.

She slows noticeably, stalling at low speed and in gently pushing her along without power I can feel resistance as the track seems to squeeze her chassis.

I think I can live with just banning her from the innermost siding. That will give her a turnout's length of straight which will halve the 1st radius length and she seems okay with that but it's not ideal. We live and learn. Next time I'm designing a layout I won't be using Settrack. It shows that just because Settrack is designed for the beginner doesn't make it foolproof. Either that or I'm just a better class of fool :)
Last edited by andruec on Fri Jan 29, 2021 5:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1581
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: An oopsie with Settrack.

#2

Post by Brian »

Hi
Setrack standard OO points e.g. ST-240 or ST-241 are Second radius on the turn out direction not first radius. :D
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
User avatar
andruec
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2020 11:01 am
Contact:

Re: An oopsie with Settrack.

#3

Post by andruec »

Brian wrote: Fri Jan 29, 2021 5:48 pm Hi
Setrack standard OO points e.g. ST-240 or ST-241 are Second radius on the turn out direction not first radius. :D
Well my next layout will be OO..but I still think I'll be forgoing Settrack :D
brian1951
Site Admin
Posts: 908
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:52 pm
Location: Welsh Borders.
Contact:

Re: An oopsie with Settrack.

#4

Post by brian1951 »

4-6-2 locos are not designed to handle 1st radius.
User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1581
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: An oopsie with Settrack.

#5

Post by Brian »

Note you original post which I replied to has been altered. :D
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests