Bridge too narrow

Help with designing your track work
Nick8873
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:33 pm
Contact:

Bridge too narrow

#1

Post by Nick8873 » Sat Jan 11, 2020 6:32 pm

Hi has anyone else come across this problem I've made a metcalfe double bridge and going with the standard width track its really close to the bridge walls see photo any suggestions please
Nick
Image

User avatar
Walkingthedog
Posts: 1998
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:51 pm
Location: HAZLEMERE, BUCKS.
Contact:

Re: Bridge too narrow

#2

Post by Walkingthedog » Sat Jan 11, 2020 6:43 pm

Are you sure it is a double bridge? If it is the same as the viaduct it is for a single track.


Just had a look at the instructions. It can be single or double. Did you make it double?
Last edited by Walkingthedog on Sat Jan 11, 2020 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nurse, the screens!

User avatar
Steve M
Posts: 1408
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:29 pm
Location: Rochester, Kent
Contact:

Re: Bridge too narrow

#3

Post by Steve M » Sat Jan 11, 2020 6:46 pm

I presume that is Hornby track - spaced at their ‘standard’ of about 67mm?
The Metcalfe bridge is probably designed to match the more prototypical Peco spacing of about 50mm.

Either use some flexitrack to narrow the gap or widen the bridge with additional card.
Deja Moo: The feeling that you've heard this bull before. ;)

User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Bridge too narrow

#4

Post by Brian » Sat Jan 11, 2020 6:58 pm

The Metcalfe PO246 bridge kit dimensions shows the width as being 128mm which is more than ample for Setrack spacing of 67mm centres. The single track width is stated as being 72mm which is perhaps what this kit has been built too? https://www.metcalfemodels.com/product/ ... red-brick/ then ... Scale and size details
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

Nick8873
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Bridge too narrow

#5

Post by Nick8873 » Sat Jan 11, 2020 7:22 pm

just measured it the outside width is 128 and between the walls is 105 I've made it as a double bridge dont really want to split in in half and widen it quessing il have to get sum flexible track for that part of track that is a hornby double track crossing making the standard 67mm track width

glencairn
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 10:30 am
Location: Both sides of the Border
Contact:

Re: Bridge too narrow

#6

Post by glencairn » Sat Jan 11, 2020 9:01 pm

You could make the bridge single track with double track either end. Makes interesting operation.

Glencairn
To the world you are someone. To someone you are the world

User avatar
Walkingthedog
Posts: 1998
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:51 pm
Location: HAZLEMERE, BUCKS.
Contact:

Re: Bridge too narrow

#7

Post by Walkingthedog » Sat Jan 11, 2020 10:07 pm

I have the viaduct. Just measured it and the internal measurement is 128mm not the external. It carries two tracks at 67mm centres. Don’t take this the wrong way but have you constructed it correctly?
Nurse, the screens!

Nick8873
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Bridge too narrow

#8

Post by Nick8873 » Sat Jan 11, 2020 11:26 pm

I wont take it the wrong way just really confused now I've constructed it as per instructions make the two half and glue together see photo ur saying uve got the viaduct with a track width of 128 on the metcalfe website it says track width 100 overall width 110 my track width is 105 but as you can see with a track width of 67 the train is touching the wall not sure what to do
Image

Image

Image

User avatar
Walkingthedog
Posts: 1998
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:51 pm
Location: HAZLEMERE, BUCKS.
Contact:

Re: Bridge too narrow

#9

Post by Walkingthedog » Sun Jan 12, 2020 8:29 am

Thinking back I may well have adapted the viaduct to take two tracks. As Steve said I think your bridge has been designed for Peco track spacing not Hornby.
Nurse, the screens!

Nick8873
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Bridge too narrow

#10

Post by Nick8873 » Sun Jan 12, 2020 8:50 am

What spacing do peco use? think il try sum flexi track first

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest