SCARM software

Help with designing your track work
User avatar
Walkingthedog
Posts: 855
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:51 pm
Location: HAZLEMERE, BUCKS.
Contact:

Re: SCARM software

#11

Post by Walkingthedog » Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:01 pm

Just for info it works on my iPad and BT internet.
Nurse, the screens!

User avatar
RogerB
Site Admin
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:17 pm
Location: Dorset
Contact:

Re: SCARM software

#12

Post by RogerB » Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:11 pm

For clarity SCARM is still in business and the link is working on several BT routers (WTD's and mine at least). As well as restart your router I suggest you clear your cache. R-
Not sure if I have plenty of time on my hands - or I’ve simply forgotten to do something really important.

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:33 am
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK
Contact:

Re: SCARM software

#13

Post by RAF96 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 12:19 pm

Just tried it again on iPad (Safari) and also on Win10 (Edge) laptop using a MiFi PAYG dongle for internet access and it works fine.
Rob

Chuffchuff
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:23 pm
Contact:

Re: SCARM software

#14

Post by Chuffchuff » Sat Feb 09, 2019 7:28 am

Thanks for your replies.

Reboot of the router did not work, so it may take a while to sort out. Maybe cache problem in the router that needs manual clearing.

Will let you know the result. Strange it seems to be restricted to one site.

Rgds

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:33 am
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK
Contact:

Re: SCARM software

#15

Post by RAF96 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 9:09 am

Maybe your AV has blocked it. Set it as an acceptable site in the listings.
Rob

Chuffchuff
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:23 pm
Contact:

Re: SCARM software

#16

Post by Chuffchuff » Sat Feb 09, 2019 9:32 am

Thanks

Unfortunately it occurs on any equipment connected to / through the router.

Apologies as this thread is going well away from model railways.

Last request, I would be grateful if anyone with a BT as ISP, could give me their DNS settings to see if I am looking at the same routing for the site, or if you are really techie the ip of scarm site, and see if I can ping it.

Many thanks, maybe just stick with Xtrckcad!

Rgds

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:19 pm
Location: The Original Washington, UK
Contact:

Re: SCARM software

#17

Post by IanS » Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:12 pm

:D Technical warning! If you don't understand computers skip this post!!! :D

91.196.125.92 is their IP address

http://prntscr.com/mir20u is the Ping details I get from here on TalkTalk.
Image

A tracert to scarm.info has one timeout on the last hop.

Image

Mixy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:07 pm
Contact:

Re: SCARM software

#18

Post by Mixy » Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:46 pm

Hi all :)

I just discovered that the forum is upgraded and that the old data, accounts and posts are gone.

If the admins give me permission, I can restore the topic about SCARM and will try to keep it frequently updated, so all forum members who use the program to be informed about what is going on, what is new and what to expect in the future.

Now on the question: SCARM is alive and I keep actively developing it. The server is up and running and there are no recorded breakdowns in the last 30 days, except one short interrupt on 24 Jan 2019 for approx. 40min due to hardware upgrade.

If Chuffchuff or someone else still can't access the SCARM website, please, contact me directly on Image and tell me about that, no matter if you are registered user or you are using the free edition of SCARM. If you receive "403 Access Denied" error, let me know your IP address as it may be blocked due to some illegal activities (may happen with some dynamic IP addresses) and I will check it in my server's blacklists. If there is another connection problem, I will try to help with workaround or advice about what can be done. I remember that one year ago, there was a configuration problem in one of the bigger ISP providers and DNS resolution for www.scarm.info just not worked for several days. It is possible something similar to be happening again or the problem to be local to Chuffchuff router and its home network.

Anyway, I am here again and I am ready to help ;)

Mixy
Author of SCARM

Chuffchuff
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:23 pm
Contact:

Re: SCARM software

#19

Post by Chuffchuff » Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:16 pm

Hi, just see your post.

Rather than involve the forum I will pm you tomorrow . Obviously let the forum know what transpired when we have a result.

Rgds

Mixy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:07 pm
Contact:

Re: SCARM software

#20

Post by Mixy » Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:39 pm

Hi Chuffchuff,

I received your PM, but the forum does not allow me to send PMs as I am a new user, so I will reply here.

The problem seems to be in the local DNS cache or DNS servers of your ISP.

When you ping the SCARM Server directly using server's IP address 91.196.125.92, everything is OK (your first picture in PM).

But when you trace the route using "scarm.info", the DNS cache or server returns wrong IP address, which is 213.120.234.154 and the result is timeout after several hops (your second pictures in PM)

There are 3 possible solutions:

1. Clear the local DNS cache: In the Command prompt type "ipconfig /flushdns" and press Enter.

2. If that does not help, contact your ISP and tell them about the problem with the name resolution for "scarm.info"- they should be able to fix this if the problem is on their servers.

3. As a last solution, you can change the default DNS setting in to some global DNS server i.e. Google public DNS at IP 8.8.8.8 - that should work and fix the problem.

Mixy

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest