Accessing this site using EE mobile

Questions about using the site
User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Accessing this site using EE mobile

#11

Post by Brian » Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:23 am

If it works for me on mobile data 'H' (low signal level) it should work for you on 4G. ;)
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

User avatar
JohnSmithUK
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 12:12 pm
Location: South Shields
Contact:

Re: Accessing this site using EE mobile

#12

Post by JohnSmithUK » Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:32 am

Image

User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Accessing this site using EE mobile

#13

Post by Brian » Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:34 am

Please try to clear the browsers cache.

Can you try accessing it by using this link... www.modelrailwayforum.co.uk/index.php


If it loads on O2 correctly as per my screen short previously there is no reason what so ever other than a cache issue or incorrect URL, why it wont load for anyone else!
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

User avatar
JohnSmithUK
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 12:12 pm
Location: South Shields
Contact:

Re: Accessing this site using EE mobile

#14

Post by JohnSmithUK » Tue Mar 05, 2019 12:10 pm

Brian wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:34 am
Please try to clear the browsers cache.

Can you try accessing it by using this link... www.modelrailwayforum.co.uk/index.php


If it loads on O2 correctly as per my screen short previously there is no reason what so ever other than a cache issue or incorrect URL, why it wont load for anyone else!
No change, I'll get onto EE again, amazing what happens when you speak to a different person.

User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Accessing this site using EE mobile

#15

Post by Brian » Tue Mar 05, 2019 12:10 pm

To add to this a bit further.. I've just been out and got 4G data signal and the forum loads almost instantly.
This text has been loaded from the phone using 4G and no WiFi connection. (image added when at home on PC)

Image
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

User avatar
Walkingthedog
Posts: 1553
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:51 pm
Location: HAZLEMERE, BUCKS.
Contact:

Re: Accessing this site using EE mobile

#16

Post by Walkingthedog » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:03 pm

Brian wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 10:57 am
Walkingthedog wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 10:52 am
Thanks Brian. All the other forums appear instantly as does the message saying it can’t connect to this one. There is no delay.
But you've just said in a previous post you dont use mobile data to connect?
WiFi will work immediately as its usually so fast. Mobile is just too slow currently. My mobile automatically uses WiFi rather than 4G whenever possible
If the forum works on WiFi on the same device then the only missing link is the speed of the mobile connection (or lack of it) :o
No I don’t use my mobile at all for the forum but John said EE, I have EE so thought I would try for him, that’s all. I won’t next time.
Nurse, the screens!

User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Accessing this site using EE mobile

#17

Post by Brian » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:06 pm

Thanks WTD. You have explained how now. Without that explanation your original "I don't use my mobile to access the forum" was the factor.

BTW this is all written via O2 network with WiFi turned Off. No issues here with O2 at all.
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

User avatar
Walkingthedog
Posts: 1553
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:51 pm
Location: HAZLEMERE, BUCKS.
Contact:

Re: Accessing this site using EE mobile

#18

Post by Walkingthedog » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:10 pm

Thanks Brian.
Nurse, the screens!

GeoffAlan2
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 1:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Accessing this site using EE mobile

#19

Post by GeoffAlan2 » Tue Mar 05, 2019 2:42 pm

Same issue on EE for me. Same phone on wifi goes straight in.

User avatar
teedoubleudee
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:53 pm
Location: Downham Market
Contact:

Re: Accessing this site using EE mobile

#20

Post by teedoubleudee » Tue Mar 05, 2019 5:57 pm

I'll probably get flamed for this but I think since the resurrection of the site and/or the change from http to https, the site has become more "fussy" regarding some connections. I started a thread regarding connection via a VPN. I did get it sorted by finding a VPN server that works consistently with this site whereas many didn't.

For what it's worth my mobile connects ok over data using an EE PAYG sim.
Most people are shocked when they find out how bad I am as an electrician

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest