Four Bridges

Dedicated area to show the community your model railway projects.
User avatar
andy757
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 8:24 pm
Location: Lincolnshire countryside
Contact:

Re: Four Bridges

#111

Post by andy757 » Sat Oct 26, 2019 8:54 am

Thanks WTD. I'll take a look at the bar joining the tender and see if I can soften the curve using flexi track.

It's an old photo but shows the area where it derails.
Attachments
IMG_20180731_171133 (002)a.jpg
IMG_20180731_171133 (002)a.jpg (148.82 KiB) Viewed 1072 times

User avatar
andy757
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 8:24 pm
Location: Lincolnshire countryside
Contact:

Re: Four Bridges

#112

Post by andy757 » Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:07 am

Well of the 3 locos bought from Rails of Sheffield, one has been sent off for repair and Rails have re-imbursed me the cost. Another loco is being returned to them as faulty in that it derails continuously as a result of the front bogie dangling like it's about to fall off. The screw that holds it in is not actually screwing into anything and the whole assembly is being held in place by a spring.

I think now might be the time to stop using this retailer. I had issues with their N gauge models and now, 2 of the 3 locos purchased lately have caused me to (a) have one repaired and (b) one returned for a refund.

User avatar
Steve M
Posts: 1617
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:29 pm
Location: Rochester, Kent
Contact:

Re: Four Bridges

#113

Post by Steve M » Mon Nov 04, 2019 1:28 pm

We’re they new or secondhand?
If they were new and faulty then blame the manufacturer not the retailer.
I’m not a complete idiot, some pieces are missing. ;)

User avatar
andy757
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 8:24 pm
Location: Lincolnshire countryside
Contact:

Re: Four Bridges

#114

Post by andy757 » Mon Nov 04, 2019 2:38 pm

Both are used models and whilst I appreciate they are used, it seems all but one locos I've ever bought from Rails, has had faults (N gauge included here).

To be fair to Rails, they paid for the repair on one and immediately offer a refund on the other.

If they were new models, I'd still have a beef with the retailer as the purchase contract is with them, not the manufacturer.

User avatar
andy757
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 8:24 pm
Location: Lincolnshire countryside
Contact:

Re: Four Bridges

#115

Post by andy757 » Mon Jan 06, 2020 7:58 am

Back now after a busy period with work and have decided to replace the 2 aspect colour light signals throughout and instead install semaphores. I have gone for the range and I wired in the first 2 yesterday via a dedicated control panel. Work nice and look the part. Happy so far.

I now have 6 x 2 aspect signals available for sale if anyone is interested. Fully working but no mimic switches. These are the DCP Express models, item number SS1 with built in track sensor. £20 each.

User avatar
andy757
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 8:24 pm
Location: Lincolnshire countryside
Contact:

Re: Four Bridges

#116

Post by andy757 » Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:47 am

Back now after a busy period with work and have decided to replace the 2 aspect colour light signals throughout and instead install semaphores. I have gone for the Dapol range and I wired in the first 2 yesterday via a dedicated control panel. Work nice and look the part. Happy so far.

I now have 6 x 2 aspect signals available for sale if anyone is interested. Fully working but no mimic switches. These are the DCP Express models, item number SS1 with built in track sensor. £20 each.

User avatar
andy757
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 8:24 pm
Location: Lincolnshire countryside
Contact:

Re: Four Bridges

#117

Post by andy757 » Mon Jan 06, 2020 5:15 pm

On the subject of the Dapol signals, and being 12v powered, I assume I could run a bus wire for positive & negative (red/black) under the board and hook in each signal to that rather than run the 2 wires from each signal to the input block at the panel?

This would reduce the amount of wire used overall and I would just have 2 wires from the panel to the board rather than a pair of wires for each signal.

User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1419
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Four Bridges

#118

Post by Brian » Mon Jan 06, 2020 5:26 pm

I can't see any reason why not. :D Just make sure the 12v DC power supply is capable of the the load being placed on it.
You will also need to connect a switch or push button across the signals Yellow wires though.
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

User avatar
andy757
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 8:24 pm
Location: Lincolnshire countryside
Contact:

Re: Four Bridges

#119

Post by andy757 » Mon Jan 06, 2020 6:36 pm

Thank you. I plan to have no more than 8 signals and 2 are already connected direct to the 12v output connector block and have their own 2 yellow wires connected to their switches via a block on the panel.

I'm using a 12v supply that plugs into the wall socket. I heard somewhere that a Gaugemaster M1 can be used as a power source but I thought that was 16v which can't be used.

User avatar
andy757
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 8:24 pm
Location: Lincolnshire countryside
Contact:

Re: Four Bridges

#120

Post by andy757 » Fri Jan 10, 2020 4:01 pm

Little confused with the wiring of the Dapol 4L-001-006, twin signal.

First, my single signals have red + black for power and 2 yellow wires which go to the switch. They work fine.

The twin signal has red + black for power and I have power to the signal. However, this signal has a box which the actual signal base plugs into and then 2 separate small plugs which take the switch wires. The unit comes supplied with 2 switches and are pre-wired but have 3 wires on each switch. Brown, yellow, orange.

So with a panel that can receive only 2 wires at each momentary switch, what do I do with the 3rd ??

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests