set track points

Post Reply
Geoffers77
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:14 pm
Contact:

set track points

#1

Post by Geoffers77 » Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:54 pm

I am using Peco Set Tracl points on a new small n gausge layout.
I want to operate the points electrically So far, using a Peco point motor with extended pin through the half inch tentest baseboard I find there is too much 'whip' in the pin to change the point
My question is: can I remove the tiebar spring and rely on the position of the motor to set the point?

Mountain Goat
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 12:57 pm
Contact:

Re: set track points

#2

Post by Mountain Goat » Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:54 pm

You really need a spring with Peco points. Though it may not be ideal, you could cut a suitable large square hole to have the point solenoid fixed to the underside of the track or you could get one of those adapter bases which have a spring in them so that the motor fits above the board on the adapter base. Mind you, I'm just thinking if an adapter base can be fixed upsidown? Umm....

User avatar
Walkingthedog
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:51 pm
Location: HAZLEMERE, BUCKS.
Contact:

Re: set track points

#3

Post by Walkingthedog » Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:01 pm

Are you using a capacitor discharge unit CDU. If not, you should. Does the tie bar slide freely?
Nurse, the screens!

User avatar
RogerB
Site Admin
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:17 pm
Location: Dorset
Contact:

Re: set track points

#4

Post by RogerB » Sun Oct 21, 2018 6:57 am

HI Geoffers, welcome to the forum.

Can you explain what you mean by "whip" please?
Also are the points (ST-5 or ST-6) also new and can they be thrown by hand - i.e. without point motor in situ?

R-
Not sure if I have plenty of time on my hands - or I’ve simply forgotten to do something really important.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest