Modeling Amtrak (HO train sets)

User avatar
PBoland
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:14 am
Location: Peterborough, UK
Contact:

Modeling Amtrak (HO train sets)

#1

Post by PBoland »

Morning all, I have travelled quite a bit in the US with Amtrak, no rush there then :lol: last trip was from San Antonio to Chicago (36 hrs) on the Texas Eagle so for nostalgic reasons I want an Amtrak train set (fairly modern) and if anyone has seen my posts my layout is pure fiction, anything goes!!

1. Any recommendations on where to buy UK or USA, I have relatives in the States so can buy over there.
2. Will they run ok on OO Gauge Peco 100 Streamline (SL-100)?
3. Would a train set be best which includes a power controller and just build a new separate loop?
4. I like the Silverton - Durango set, any good? Travelled on it years back.

My layout has 5 separate setups one being just a simple continuous loop with separate controller, could switch to US controller when needed.

Anyway, if you could give the above some thought and any suggestions really appreciated. Hav'nt put it by the boss yet but.... :)
Cheers, Pat
User avatar
IanS
Posts: 743
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:19 pm
Location: The Original Washington, UK
Contact:

Re: Modeling Amtrak (HO train sets)

#2

Post by IanS »

Any power controller will have the 'wrong' plug for the mains. It also used to be the case (not sure if it still is) that mains in the US was around 110v not the 220-240v we have in the UK. HO and 00 track, are the same gauge - I'm not sure on the height (100). I understand US locos should work on Peco SL100.
User avatar
PBoland
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:14 am
Location: Peterborough, UK
Contact:

Re: Modeling Amtrak (HO train sets)

#3

Post by PBoland »

IanS wrote: Thu Mar 11, 2021 9:16 am Any power controller will have the 'wrong' plug for the mains. It also used to be the case (not sure if it still is) that mains in the US was around 110v not the 220-240v we have in the UK. HO and 00 track, are the same gauge - I'm not sure on the height (100). I understand US locos should work on Peco SL100.
Cheers, no problems with the power supply I have plenty of adapters, my American family sort that for me ;)
User avatar
yelrow
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:54 pm
Location: Burgundy, France
Contact:

Re: Modeling Amtrak (HO train sets)

#4

Post by yelrow »

Hi i run MTH, Bachmann, Lionel, all HO, on peco track, no probs, Also run MTH, controllers. I have the Durango, loco, in 00, and whole set in N gauge. john
User avatar
darkscot
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Modeling Amtrak (HO train sets)

#5

Post by darkscot »

Hello Pat
You need to take a look here:
https://www.modeltrainstuff.com
They are US based but ship internationally and give prices in local currency. Their prices for N gauge were excellent, but I am not sure how they compare for HO but they seem OK. For example they have an Athearn Amtrack ES44AC for £147, compared with £249 in Rails of Sheffield.
When you add shipping costs and 20% VAT plus 2.5% duty (if the value is over £135) the saving is not so much. But they have a huge stock and if you are starting from scratch the savings could be significant.
Many times the wrong train took me to the right place.
User avatar
Stese
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:26 pm
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

Re: Modeling Amtrak (HO train sets)

#6

Post by Stese »

Hi...

If the set you buy is labelled as DCC fitted or included... the loco(s) will likely work on any DCC controller.

If its 'DCC Ready' it will most likely work on any standard (hornby trainset, gaugemaster etc) controller... but best check the box... and ask here.. links or pictures will always help!
Husband, Father, IT Guy, HO/OO Modeller.
User avatar
PBoland
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:14 am
Location: Peterborough, UK
Contact:

Re: Modeling Amtrak (HO train sets)

#7

Post by PBoland »

Great stuff, many thanks for the replies. I only have analogue so maybe a small branch out to begin with DCC ;) Just double checked my wishlist :shock:
Stese wrote: Thu Mar 11, 2021 11:45 am Hi...

If the set you buy is labelled as DCC fitted or included... the loco(s) will likely work on any DCC controller.

If its 'DCC Ready' it will most likely work on any standard (hornby trainset, gaugemaster etc) controller... but best check the box... and ask here.. links or pictures will always help!
darkscot wrote: Thu Mar 11, 2021 11:10 am Hello Pat
You need to take a look here:
https://www.modeltrainstuff.com
They are US based but ship internationally and give prices in local currency. Their prices for N gauge were excellent, but I am not sure how they compare for HO but they seem OK. For example they have an Athearn Amtrack ES44AC for £147, compared with £249 in Rails of Sheffield.
When you add shipping costs and 20% VAT plus 2.5% duty (if the value is over £135) the saving is not so much. But they have a huge stock and if you are starting from scratch the savings could be significant.
User avatar
PBoland
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:14 am
Location: Peterborough, UK
Contact:

Re: Modeling Amtrak (HO train sets)

#8

Post by PBoland »

Cool, that's my afternoon set for research.
yelrow wrote: Thu Mar 11, 2021 10:29 am Hi i run MTH, Bachmann, Lionel, all HO, on peco track, no probs, Also run MTH, controllers. I have the Durango, loco, in 00, and whole set in N gauge. john
User avatar
cadman
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:37 pm
Location: Leighton Buzzard
Contact:

Re: Modeling Amtrak (HO train sets)

#9

Post by cadman »

Have a look at www.ukmodelshops.co.uk where you will find some retailers of U.S. H0 models..........HB
Sorry I'm late but I couldn't get my flip-flops to work :roll:
User avatar
PBoland
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:14 am
Location: Peterborough, UK
Contact:

Re: Modeling Amtrak (HO train sets)

#10

Post by PBoland »

Well first loco on its way https://www.walthers.com/ge-p42-amtrak-late-19 :D
As I have travelled extensively on Amtrak I had to have one just to keep the memories alive, coaches to follow. This is us waiting to board the Crescent at Birmingham, Alabama on route to New Orleans back in 2019 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZO6kp3 ... dZ&index=2
Fingers crossed we can all get travelling again soon.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests