Keeping it clean

John Disdle
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:12 am
Contact:

Re: Keeping it clean

#11

Post by John Disdle » Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:04 am

Hi ajcooper4.

I have had the very same problem, with a small 0-6-0 loco, a Barcley Ajax. It would run ok, and then stall at the same place it had run over before.

The answer I found, was to have the Stay Alive fitted. It will now run slowly all round my layout without stopping. It gives about two to three seconds of power. Enough to get over a sticky spot.

Mikko2
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Keeping it clean

#12

Post by Mikko2 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:38 am

I agree with the consensus of opinion here if the loco(s) stop at the same place each time. It's track.
Don't know anything about DCC but I had the same problem with a 4-6-0 Ringfield on DC, no prob. with another 10 locos and visually the track was good but a spirit level proved different and track levelling adjustment provided normal running. Much to my surprise.
Have read your comments about cork etc but have you tried a spirit level?
If so I cant help but advise us of the eventual outcome please.

User avatar
ajcooper4
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:43 pm
Location: Warminster
Contact:

Re: Keeping it clean

#13

Post by ajcooper4 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 5:24 pm

Thanks for the replies. In an earlier post I asked a question about stay alives and the consensus was they add
nothing. Clearly other people have more positive experiences.

Are they difficult to fit and how expensive might they be?

User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1318
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Keeping it clean

#14

Post by Brian » Sat Jan 19, 2019 5:29 pm

If your decoder is pre fitted with SA wires then easy. Otherwise my advice is dont bother, as trying to solder a wire onto a SMD component on the decoders board is fraught with possible problems!

SA kits are available from around £3.50 But dont expect these to provide more than a few milliseconds of SA power. Example https://www.railwayscenics.com/4700uf-2 ... -1952.html
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

User avatar
ajcooper4
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:43 pm
Location: Warminster
Contact:

Re: Keeping it clean

#15

Post by ajcooper4 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 11:22 pm

I’m now informed that there’s insufficient room inside my ex GWR 14xx (Hatton’s/Dave Jones models) for a SA so that seems to be that. Perhaps careful and meticulous cleaning is the order of the day.

User avatar
steel bat
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 8:50 pm
Location: Suffolk
Contact:

Re: Keeping it clean

#16

Post by steel bat » Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:38 am

If your 14xx is permanently coupled to an autocoach it might help to fit extra pick-ups using coach wheels.


On many WR branches goods wagons were attatched as a tail load and shunting was often done with the autocoach still attatched to save having to keep uncoupling the linkages.

User avatar
Walkingthedog
Posts: 2450
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:51 pm
Location: HAZLEMERE, BUCKS.
Contact:

Re: Keeping it clean

#17

Post by Walkingthedog » Sun Jan 20, 2019 2:44 pm

I think SA just prevents a loco from stuttering when the same thing can be done by laying the track properly. It’s like propping up a rotten fence post with an iron bar when really the post needs replacing. ;)
Nurse, the screens!

Bandit Mick
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Keeping it clean

#18

Post by Bandit Mick » Mon Jan 21, 2019 8:41 am

Sorry, can't add any other advice to what has already been said. It's very frustrating but hope you get it sorted very soon. Keep us informed how you get on.

User avatar
RogerB
Site Admin
Posts: 1254
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:17 pm
Location: Dorset
Contact:

Re: Keeping it clean

#19

Post by RogerB » Mon Jan 21, 2019 8:46 am

ajcooper4 wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 11:22 pm
I’m now informed that there’s insufficient room inside my ex GWR 14xx (Hatton’s/Dave Jones models) for a SA so that seems to be that......
Don't worry, that information has saved you some otherwise ill-spent cash. I have experimented with these and found them to make very little difference. It can be measured in milliseconds unless the capacitor is very large, and even then it might get your loco across the poor track - but it might not. Better by far to follow the advice of getting good track levels and keeping everything meticulously clean. R-
All pets are therapy pets. Most are just working under cover.

User avatar
ajcooper4
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:43 pm
Location: Warminster
Contact:

Re: Keeping it clean

#20

Post by ajcooper4 » Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:36 am

I am going to try more thorough cleaning first - I am still working on the layout and it's in the attic both things are probably not helping with cleanliness.

Someone suggested an additional pick up in my auto coach to help my 14xx - anybody done this?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest