DCC Decoder wire

Post Reply
User avatar
miffy
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:44 am
Location: Bishop Auckland
Contact:

DCC Decoder wire

#1

Post by miffy » Sun Dec 15, 2019 4:51 pm

I need to extend the wires on a decoder as I am adding some LED lights at the front/rear of a loco. What size wire would be suitable? I notice that the wires on the decoder are quite think compared to those from the loco pick ups so I was confused about what size to use.

User avatar
Stese
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:26 pm
Location: Chester, UK
Contact:

Re: DCC Decoder wire

#2

Post by Stese » Sun Dec 15, 2019 5:35 pm

i'd say as long as you exceed the size of the pickup wires, you'll be fine. (since all the current will be coming through that anyway)
Husband, Father, IT Guy, HO/OO Modeller.

User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: DCC Decoder wire

#3

Post by Brian » Sun Dec 15, 2019 5:41 pm

Hi
If you want to use thin flexible wire for LED decoder fed lighting then these should fit the bill... https://www.dccsupplies.com/item-s-wire ... r-wire.htm
Or eBay seller like this one.. https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Railwaysceni ... UDqrNAF8hw Select Ultra fine. (Note example given is rather expensive!)
A better price on eBay ... https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/30m-DCC-Deco ... 0005.m1851
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website

User avatar
miffy
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:44 am
Location: Bishop Auckland
Contact:

Re: DCC Decoder wire

#4

Post by miffy » Mon Dec 16, 2019 9:55 am

Thanks both for the advice, I'll order some

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests