Addressing a Double Slip

Post Reply
User avatar
Mr Bones
Posts: 593
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:24 pm
Location: Canterbury Area
Contact:

Addressing a Double Slip

#1

Post by Mr Bones »

I think I'm ok with the concept of wiring a double slip (Peco SL-90).

My question is about addressing the point motors. Am I correct in assuming they would have the same address so they would work in unison?

If another point is then attached would that also require the same address?

Image

So would PM1, PM2 & PM3 all be the same?
And the Lord said unto John “Come forth and receive eternal life”, but John came fifth and won a toaster!
User avatar
Steve M
Posts: 2068
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:29 pm
Location: Rochester, Kent
Contact:

Re: Addressing a Double Slip

#2

Post by Steve M »

I can only comment from an analogue perspective based on the one I have. The motors have to act independently to allow the various routes to be selected, therefore I have separate switches for each PM.
I presume under DCC operation it would be the same.
"Not very stable, but incredibly versatile." ;)
User avatar
teedoubleudee
Posts: 903
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:53 pm
Location: Downham Market
Contact:

Re: Addressing a Double Slip

#3

Post by teedoubleudee »

Think of a slip as two separate points and you soon see they must be able to act independently, therefore must be different DCC addtesses

Otherwise you can only set one of two routes.
Most people are shocked when they find out how bad I am as an electrician
User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1581
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Addressing a Double Slip

#4

Post by Brian »

All above are correct. Two motors on a DS need separate address numbers. :D
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
User avatar
Mr Bones
Posts: 593
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:24 pm
Location: Canterbury Area
Contact:

Re: Addressing a Double Slip

#5

Post by Mr Bones »

Thanks Guys.
In my diagram would PM3 share an address with either PM1 or PM2 at all as opposing point motors would?
And the Lord said unto John “Come forth and receive eternal life”, but John came fifth and won a toaster!
User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1581
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Addressing a Double Slip

#6

Post by Brian »

Personally, I would give all three separate address numbers, as PM1 and PM2 can be set to different routes through the DS. I feel trying to work out when PM3 is to be set towards the turnout route would be very complex to do from the DS PM1 and PM2 routes.
Easy with single operations IMO, more easier singerly if your DCC system allows routes (Macros) to be set?
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
User avatar
Mr Bones
Posts: 593
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:24 pm
Location: Canterbury Area
Contact:

Re: Addressing a Double Slip

#7

Post by Mr Bones »

Thanks Brian, that makes sense. It will be used with a Z21 and iTrain both of which can do routes. They can calculate it far quicker than I can :D
And the Lord said unto John “Come forth and receive eternal life”, but John came fifth and won a toaster!
User avatar
teedoubleudee
Posts: 903
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:53 pm
Location: Downham Market
Contact:

Re: Addressing a Double Slip

#8

Post by teedoubleudee »

Totally agree with Brian re routes and macros. On my previous layout I had 3 single slips used to join/leave a double track oval to a set of storage sidings. To complicate matters two of these were at the back of the layout out of sight. I found it easier to draw out all the permutations of each slip and assign a macro for each route on my powercab - see attached example.

My biggest problem with slips was getting the frog switching right!


Image
Most people are shocked when they find out how bad I am as an electrician
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests