Adding Droppers to Points.

User avatar
Journeyman
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2021 6:30 pm
Contact:

Adding Droppers to Points.

#1

Post by Journeyman »

Just sorting out track, cleaning it and soldering on droppers to the straits and curves.
The points are in poor condition and the blades do not pick up the current reliably because the contacts under the blades are badly corroded.
It is normal practice to feed the point from the toe but that needs good contacts to work.
What I’m contemplating doing is to solder droppers on to the two stock rails and the two frog rails at the other end. My tester shows this will provide power to the closure rails and the blades.
Railway 123.jpg
Railway 123.jpg (391.69 KiB) Viewed 653 times
123
Can you see any reason not to do this?

Thanks, Dave.
User avatar
darkscot
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Adding Droppers to Points.

#2

Post by darkscot »

The easy answer to your question, at least from me, is yes! That is exactly what I have done on several of my aging points.
Many times the wrong train took me to the right place.
User avatar
Journeyman
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2021 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding Droppers to Points.

#3

Post by Journeyman »

Thanks very much for the quick response, just what I was hoping to hear :).

Cheers, Dave.
User avatar
darkscot
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Adding Droppers to Points.

#4

Post by darkscot »

In my experience you cannot have to many extra connections on points, especially old ones.
Many times the wrong train took me to the right place.
User avatar
Journeyman
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2021 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding Droppers to Points.

#5

Post by Journeyman »

Yes, this kind seem to make good connections from the frog end but some might need a small flexible wire to the blade as well.

Good to know that you are finding the same.

Dave.
User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1574
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: Adding Droppers to Points.

#6

Post by Brian »

Hi
As I said on the other forum you posted the question on...

What your suggesting is fine.. But note it of course means the points two exit tracks are always live, rather than being switched by the point blades position. So do bear that in mind as it may cause issues with tracks further along after the point! It also involves more wiring.

The alternative, is to solder onto the underside of the points rails between each stock rail and adjacent closure rail a link wire, then consider also extending the link wires so as they become droppers and feed both sides rails of the point from the controller. :D

Suggested method..
Image
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
User avatar
darkscot
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Adding Droppers to Points.

#7

Post by darkscot »

Brian wrote: Thu Jun 10, 2021 8:26 am Image
This is what I have done on some of my points, the only reason I didn't do it on all of them is that I forgot! I am now paying the price as my Caledonian and L&Y pugs never run over them without stalling!
Many times the wrong train took me to the right place.
User avatar
Journeyman
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2021 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding Droppers to Points.

#8

Post by Journeyman »

Thanks Brian, that is a very neat solution and is the way I will go.
It’s these informed understandings that make these forums so valuable to newcomers like myself, it’s much appreciated that you’re all so ready to share.

Cheers, Dave.
User avatar
Journeyman
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2021 6:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding Droppers to Points.

#9

Post by Journeyman »

Rather than starting a new thread I thought I would add to this one.
Does anyone know what make these points are? And are they better of worse than the Hornby?
Railway 135.jpg
Railway 135.jpg (120.86 KiB) Viewed 348 times
Although they seem to have better blade contacts than the Hornby I can’t see an easy way of bypassing the contacts with droppers.

Cheers, Dave.
User avatar
darkscot
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Adding Droppers to Points.

#10

Post by darkscot »

Unless I am very much mistaken, that is set of Lima points. I believe they are decent enough and would be OK in a siding. I personally would only buy Peco points now, if you already have them then why not use them. However, I do not think you can easily use them with 'standard' point motors. The three spade shaped indentations on the bottom left are for connections to the Lima point motors I think.
Many times the wrong train took me to the right place.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest