If you are having issues viewing the forum or logging in, the recommendation is to log out and then clear all Cookies and the browser cache from your web browser. Usually accessed via the Browsers Settings icon. Then log in with your Forum user name and password. (Don't forget to tick the 'Remember me' box).

NCE Power Cab PSU - Help please

Post Reply
User avatar
teedoubleudee
Posts: 673
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:53 pm
Location: Downham Market
Contact:

NCE Power Cab PSU - Help please

#1

Post by teedoubleudee »

Hi guys, I've got to the stage of my new layout where I want to test the DCC. So I've got it all wired up but during the last few months I've managed to separate the Power Cab board and controller from the PSU. Now I have what I think is the correct one, but just wanted to make sure before I plug it in and switch on! The Power Cab manual calls the supplied PSU a P114 but the one I have in front of me has no such identification but the following information:

Power Pax P2415
Part No. SW4511
Model KSAS0251500200D5
Output 15v DC at 2.0Amps, centre pin positive (+)

Does this match with yours? It was supplied from Coastal DCC.
Thanks.
Most people are shocked when they find out how bad I am as an electrician
User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1157
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: NCE Power Cab PSU - Help please

#2

Post by Brian »

The Power Pax power supply is used to replace the original one supplied with the PowerCab. It increases the supply volts slightly and increases the current too. It will be fine :D
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
User avatar
teedoubleudee
Posts: 673
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:53 pm
Location: Downham Market
Contact:

Re: NCE Power Cab PSU - Help please

#3

Post by teedoubleudee »

Many thanks Brian.
Most people are shocked when they find out how bad I am as an electrician
brian1951
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 5:52 pm
Location: Welsh Borders.
Contact:

Re: NCE Power Cab PSU - Help please

#4

Post by brian1951 »

Its ok Terry but do not exceed 15 volts with a PowerCab.
User avatar
teedoubleudee
Posts: 673
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:53 pm
Location: Downham Market
Contact:

Re: NCE Power Cab PSU - Help please

#5

Post by teedoubleudee »

It worked fine, and what's more important is my wiring all worked too!
Most people are shocked when they find out how bad I am as an electrician
User avatar
Brian
Site Admin
Posts: 1157
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 pm
Location: SE Kent
Contact:

Re: NCE Power Cab PSU - Help please

#6

Post by Brian »

Yes, it the one I purchased from Coastal DCC at an exhibition to improve the PowerCab performance. Works well and causes no issues at all. :D
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests