Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > DCC


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2018, 07:28 PM   #11
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,435
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

What about a function only decoder?
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 07:38 PM   #12
Paul Palmer
Senior Member
 

Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 110
Paul Palmer is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadman View Post
Don't you have to address the decoders separately?......separate the two cars and do the TTS decoder first as it is connected to the motor, then take the trailer car decoder out, plug into the motor car, re-address and replace back into the trailer car. Replace the TTS, then all should work as new.........HB
will try that now Cadman,thankyou
Paul Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 07:39 PM   #13
cadman
Senior Member
 
cadman's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Leighton Buzzard
Posts: 499
cadman is on a distinguished road
Default

No idea, have never used one..................HB
cadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 07:47 PM   #14
Rog (RJ)
Super Duper Moderator ;-)
 
Rog (RJ)'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Nottm, UK
Posts: 1,620
Rog (RJ) is on a distinguished road
Default

All you need to do to program the 2 ordinary decoders is to put the dummy AND powered car on the programming track at the same time. If the lights on the dummy car show the wrong colour running lights, eg red instead of white, then adjust CV29 until the light are correct on the dummy car. Then remove the dummy car from the programming track and get the lights working correctly on the power car.

Function only decoders don't need to have a motor connected, so they can be programmed easily in dummy cars. They are sometimes more expensive than a cheap, ordinary decoder and are rarer now than they used to be.

Faulty loco decoders which have failed motor controls but still have operable light outputs can also be used in dummy cars, so don't automatically throw away faulty ones.
__________________
If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't say anything.

Rog (RJ)
Rog (RJ) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 07:55 PM   #15
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,435
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

Iím getting the hang of this.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 08:45 PM   #16
Bulleidboy
Senior Member
 
Bulleidboy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Basingstoke, Hants
Posts: 2,193
Bulleidboy is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkingthedog View Post
Iím getting the hang of this.
Do you mean "you've seen the light"?
__________________
Diplomacy is the art of telling people to go to hell in such a way that they ask for directions.
Bulleidboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 08:57 PM   #17
Paul Palmer
Senior Member
 

Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 110
Paul Palmer is on a distinguished road
Default

Well I have sound,but I still cannot address the loco
Paul Palmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 08:57 PM   #18
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,435
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

Only a candle Barry and Iím about to blow it out. I was going to say snuff it but that sounds a bit final.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 09:13 PM   #19
Rog (RJ)
Super Duper Moderator ;-)
 
Rog (RJ)'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Nottm, UK
Posts: 1,620
Rog (RJ) is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Palmer View Post
Well I have sound,but I still cannot address the loco
How are you getting sound if you can't address it? Is it on address 3?

You could try turning the loco around so that it faces the other way on the programming track. Some TTS decoders have a fault where they can only be programmed or run when they are facing a particular direction and may not work on some DCC controllers. If you have this problem, you need to contact Hornby for advice on what you need to do.
__________________
If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't say anything.

Rog (RJ)
Rog (RJ) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 09:19 AM   #20
RAFHAAA96
Trying-hard-to-re Member
 
RAFHAAA96's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Moni, Limassol, Cyprus
Posts: 363
RAFHAAA96 is on a distinguished road
Default

This model has twin TTS decoders.

What version is the Select - watch the startup screen first pair of numbers. 15 (v1.5) is the current state.

HST TTS has been seen as problematic, so do as advised above and contact Hornby.

Rob
__________________
Halton Brat, running Hornby 00 via Elite, Select Walkabout and eLink DCC using Railmaster Pro and occasionally Rocrail, β-tester. http://myweb.cytanet.com.cy/honnor/
RAFHAAA96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.