Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > DCC


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-06-2018, 12:31 AM   #11
amdaley
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 5
amdaley is on a distinguished road
Default

Agreed with everyone who has suggested droppers on every piece of track.
__________________
Regards.
Tony Daly.
Southern Ireland.
amdaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2018, 07:48 PM   #12
TimberSurf
Webmaster/Modelapprentice
 
TimberSurf's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: N.Wales
Posts: 45
TimberSurf is on a distinguished road
Default

This question comes up frequently and causes confusion, one bunch advocates going nuts with droppers and, as Cudworth says, others chime in with " I have been running with a single connection for 30 years and never had a problem!", which makes a mockery of the first!

It's really down to some extremes, that do need something and personal preference. (risk)

A full explanation and guidance can be found here
__________________
Website = LUMSDONIA

Gauge = OO ¶ Controller = NCE ¶ Points = Servo ¶ Block control = TBA ¶ Lighting = USB from PC ¶ Locos = 50+ ¶ Wagons = 1,200+
TimberSurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2018, 07:59 PM   #13
Teedoubleudee
All round good guy
 
Teedoubleudee's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Downham Market
Posts: 3,179
Teedoubleudee is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimberSurf View Post
This question comes up frequently and causes confusion, one bunch advocates going nuts with droppers and, as Cudworth says, others chime in with " I have been running with a single connection for 30 years and never had a problem!", which makes a mockery of the first!

It's really down to some extremes, that do need something and personal preference. (risk)

A full explanation and guidance can be found here
The link talks of a bus when using DCC but IMHO it is just as important to eliminate problems with volts drop and poor fish plate continuity on a DC layout.
__________________
If I agreed with you, we'd both be wrong
Teedoubleudee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2018, 08:09 PM   #14
brian1951
Super Moderator
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: at home or Lucerne
Posts: 4,359
brian1951 is on a distinguished road
Default

Using a bus with plenty of droppers eliminates problems with fishplate connections entirely. Dc or Dcc.
brian1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2018, 09:27 PM   #15
Bunkerbarge
Senior Member
 
Bunkerbarge's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mid Lincolnshire in a field
Posts: 313
Bunkerbarge is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimberSurf View Post
This question comes up frequently and causes confusion, one bunch advocates going nuts with droppers and, as Cudworth says, others chime in with " I have been running with a single connection for 30 years and never had a problem!", which makes a mockery of the first!

It's really down to some extremes, that do need something and personal preference. (risk)

A full explanation and guidance can be found here
Sorry but I have to disagree, nothing is made a mockery of at all.

It is all about what level of risk of a failure that you are prepared to accept. There are many modellers out there with a single feed to a layout that rely on the joints to supply the track and have no problems. However they may also have overheating joints and locomotives not running as efficiently as they could be without even knowing it, but lets assume for now they have no problems.

If all thier joints are easily accesible and they are happy to accept the fact that replacing fishplates/cleaning track ends etc is not too much of a hardship then they may well decide that fitting droppers to every piece of track is overkill.

Most of us however tend towards the angle of removing any risk of power supply drop issues completely and there is no doubt about it and no discussion against it that fitting a power supply to every piece of track will reduce the risk of challenges to the absolute minimum. Most of us with difficult to lift track who do not want to start cleaning joints or replacing fishplates are more than happy to put the extra time into the build to minimise the possible risk of work afterwards.

As with most things it is up to us to decide what works best for us, what level of risk we are happy to accept and how we want to go about our builds. We all manage our own risks in our own way, but there is certainly no making a mockery of anything.

Last edited by Bunkerbarge; 25-06-2018 at 09:28 PM.
Bunkerbarge is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2018, 09:35 PM   #16
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,435
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

My two circuits of about 30 ish feet each have four power feeds each. Everything runs perfectly and has for many years. When the layout was in the loft it was much bigger and had 3 feeds each. DC of course.

Think if I were to start again I might add more but not one each section.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2018, 10:37 PM   #17
Bulleidboy
Senior Member
 
Bulleidboy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Basingstoke, Hants
Posts: 2,193
Bulleidboy is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amdaley View Post
Agreed with everyone who has suggested droppers on every piece of track.
I agree - that's what I did.
__________________
Diplomacy is the art of telling people to go to hell in such a way that they ask for directions.
Bulleidboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2018, 10:40 PM   #18
TimberSurf
Webmaster/Modelapprentice
 
TimberSurf's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: N.Wales
Posts: 45
TimberSurf is on a distinguished road
Default

Teedoubleudee, you are correct, I have not mentioned DC (might have to add a few words) and it is just as applicable to apply "a BUS" to eliminate fishplate issues, but no so relevant for things like accessories (so needs some caveats)

Bunkerbarge, what you have written in your last post is very elegantly put (apart from the mockery dig). But I feel you miss the point. As a beginner, asking the question, if the knee jerk reaction off all responses, is to fit droppers to every smidgen of track, although very sound and good advice, it is only the opinion of the masses. As per your longer response, it should be tainted with the amount of extra effort that may take, and the net benefits vs risk of failure (and ensuing difficulty to diagnose/repair)
It is easy to believe if all answers reiterate masses of droppers, that that is the only way. As iterated by many in this thread, in practice (if your lucky), very few problems may, actually occur, with very few connections, in a long time!
Thus there is a sliding balance that must be determined by the individual between effort and benefit (de-risk) that is not immediately apparent if most responses are biased toward the max!
__________________
Website = LUMSDONIA

Gauge = OO ¶ Controller = NCE ¶ Points = Servo ¶ Block control = TBA ¶ Lighting = USB from PC ¶ Locos = 50+ ¶ Wagons = 1,200+
TimberSurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2018, 11:05 PM   #19
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,435
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

I guess the amount of power feed you have depends on how often you like to change your layout. Some people are always moving the track. My friend had a big layout in a shed and I never knew what to expect when I went there. Me, I hardly change mine at all, maybe move a set of points.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2018, 11:19 PM   #20
Steve M
Carcharodon carcharias
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 4,143
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

Iím always changing bits on my layout and still have droppers on all track sections.

I believe the advice to put droppers on every section is well founded - remember that if you choose to weather your track and add ballast fixed with dilute PVA there is a good chance that the paint and/or glue will seep into the fishplates.

If that happens and their conductivity is compromised then you will probably wish that you had put more droppers in at the outset.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.