Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > DCC


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-06-2018, 05:53 PM   #1
collectors
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: West Norfolk
Posts: 68
collectors is on a distinguished road
Default Passing loop

Hi, cant seem to find a full diagram on a passing loop using peco electrofrog's.
Am i right in saying treat the two points as normal with wiring & insulate the two iner frog rails & also in the at a point in the middle of both tracks on all 4 rails.
I take it i would have to also re-feed all 2 tracks / 8 rails as i have put insulators in.
Hope this makes sense.

Thanks
collectors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2018, 06:19 PM   #2
ians
Talkative Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NE England -Washington
Posts: 170
ians is on a distinguished road
Default

Are you using DC or DCC? As the answer will be different depending on which one you use, I think.
ians is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2018, 06:22 PM   #3
cadman
Senior Member
 
cadman's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Leighton Buzzard
Posts: 461
cadman is on a distinguished road
Default

Have a look at Brian Lambert's website here..........http://www.brian-lambert.co.uk/Electrical.html ........just scroll down till you find the relevant article...........HB
cadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2018, 08:11 PM   #4
Bunkerbarge
Senior Member
 
Bunkerbarge's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mid Lincolnshire in a field
Posts: 178
Bunkerbarge is on a distinguished road
Default

There's an arrangement here with switched electro frogs.

https://www.dccconcepts.com/manual/cobalt-ss/
Bunkerbarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2018, 08:15 PM   #5
collectors
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: West Norfolk
Posts: 68
collectors is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ians View Post
Are you using DC or DCC? As the answer will be different depending on which one you use, I think.
Its on a DCC track.
collectors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2018, 09:56 PM   #6
Cudworth
Senior Member
 
Cudworth's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 742
Cudworth is on a distinguished road
Default

I have got a passing loop on DCC, but I've only got insulfrogs. However, I have got a DCC Concepts ADS-2sx. Refering to the instruction leaflet, it will control TWO live frog points. The diagram on page 10 shows you how to wire it. The ADS2sx will control TWO live frog loops. You need either this accessories decoder or some other make which will switch the polarity of the frog. A PDF of the instruction leafet can be downloaded online printed out and studied.
Cudworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2018, 07:40 AM   #7
collectors
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: West Norfolk
Posts: 68
collectors is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cudworth View Post
I have got a passing loop on DCC, but I've only got insulfrogs. However, I have got a DCC Concepts ADS-2sx. Refering to the instruction leaflet, it will control TWO live frog points. The diagram on page 10 shows you how to wire it. The ADS2sx will control TWO live frog loops. You need either this accessories decoder or some other make which will switch the polarity of the frog. A PDF of the instruction leafet can be downloaded online printed out and studied.
Ah! Well done all. Cudworth, did you mean page 7?. I forgot i have some spare ways on my ADS 8sx & looking at the diagram i could use just 1 output for both points. On the ADS8sx it shows no insulators on the frog rails. Are they not needed when using 2 points like this?

Thanks everyone.
collectors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2018, 10:10 AM   #8
Cudworth
Senior Member
 
Cudworth's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 742
Cudworth is on a distinguished road
Default

On page 10 (referring to AD-S2sx which may be a later model) it says "When two points form a loop, crossings/frogs are always the same polarity". So in this instance you would not need IRJ's.

I use insulfrogs on my layout so as not to be affected by this issue. I think In some track formations you could have a dead short if the other point gets stuck. I think you could guard against this by fitting Peco ST-205 and R8015 rigged up so the track was isolated when the point did not move.

Shorts on DC will only produce a spark when the loco crosses the frog, but on DCC the command station will be forced to cut power to the track, so it is advisable to test the track formation with every loco you have and make sure no shorts occur in any circumstances.
Cudworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2018, 11:22 AM   #9
Tinker
Motive Power Supervisor
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: N W Norfolk
Posts: 2,325
Tinker is on a distinguished road
Default

A passing loop allows a slow running train a place to stop while a faster train passes om the main track, just wire the points as normal, IRJ inserted on the frogs, either digital Point motors to operate the points and the frog polarity as individual points, or auto polarity switches and a any type of Point Motor, make the loop longer than your longest train, in operation the first set of of point are set for the loop, the slow train enters and stops, the points are altered for the fast train, the far end point would be set for this train and changed once it has passed then reset to the main track once its clear....
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2018, 12:18 PM   #10
Cudworth
Senior Member
 
Cudworth's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 742
Cudworth is on a distinguished road
Default

The wiring's more complicated operating two points separately. With one loco on a run round loop both points can be thrown at the same time. The ADS-2sx will control two points or two crossovers or two run round loops by switching 2 solenoids at once. However you can only do this if you have a bus voltage of 15v++, use wire not less than 18gauge and keep the wires to both solenoids the same length.

I am thinking of programming rail master to have the train come in, detach the loco, run round the loop and go out again using ADS-2sx R8244. Anybody tried this?
Cudworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.