Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > DCC


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2018, 07:02 AM   #1
neil2
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rainham essex
Posts: 129
neil2 is on a distinguished road
Default Alarm wire

I've started my block detection system using Digi trax kit has anyone used house alarm wire, just thought it would be easer to do under the board.
neil2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 11:24 AM   #2
Tricky Dicky
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 645
Tricky Dicky is on a distinguished road
Default

Assuming you are using BDL168s the specs. say that each detection zone is capable of a current draw of up to 3A which at first would suggest quite substantial wire. However, modern locos draw nothing like that and even in a consist would not draw anything like that current. The current draw ability is probably aimed at the US market where modellers replicating US consists of 3/4 or more locos which could all be in a single detection zone.

If your detection zones are never likely to hold more than one loco you may be OK but I would suggest you look at the specs. for your alarm wire. The two wires that need to be capable of the full controller output are the zone common and detection common.

Richard
Tricky Dicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 12:15 PM   #3
neil2
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rainham essex
Posts: 129
neil2 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the quick reply and yes the BDL is the weapon of choice, I have not got the wire I was just thinking out loud, but thanks anyway.
neil2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 12:39 PM   #4
chris_db4
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 559
chris_db4 is on a distinguished road
Default

it kind of depends on the length of the run as well as the current. and while most motors now draw very little current some chips can run a fair amount a Hornby TTs will draw 0.8amps so if you have a class 91 with two decoders and coach lighting then it will be more than you think
chris_db4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2018, 12:45 PM   #5
stevenfitch
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Blyth, Northumberland
Posts: 287
stevenfitch is on a distinguished road
Default

I used exactly that, 6 core alarm cable and had approx 20m runs on n gauge. The biggest issue is the type of wire. 'CCA' 'Copper Coated Aluminium' is to be avoided but i had no issues over the 20m runs.
Note, i was running n gauge but had the Digitrax DB150's set to OO Gauge.

Layout build is here:
http://www.modelrailwayforum.co.uk/s...ead.php?t=5314
__________________
Using Digitrax hardware with RR&Co TrainController.

OO Gauge DC with some automation (now no longer)
Automated N Gauge Loft Layout (now no longer)
Automated G Scale Garden Railway (current)
stevenfitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.