Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > DCC


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2017, 07:44 PM   #1
AviatorAtHeart
Don't ask, I don't know!
 
AviatorAtHeart's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chalfont St Peter
Posts: 314
AviatorAtHeart is on a distinguished road
Default Bampton sparky

Not sure about this!

Track electronics......
Time to start exploring the possibilities for my layout.
I got rained off today so I built Rob Paisleys stall motor driver.
Pretty cool, quite easy to get on a bread board, especially compared to the last project I worked out!
I will put this onto strip board.......and hopefully use it on my layout.

As far as I understand it, you have at least two circuits below board,
power feed I/O switches etc & point motors (from accessory feed)

Hopefully I can use (I just bought a new) gaugemaster combi to power the trains
and a separate switched mode power supply (12Vdc 1A) to power my points.

So here it is!
https://flic.kr/p/Xumc2Y
__________________

You can only drink so much lemonade
AviatorAtHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2017, 08:46 AM   #2
AviatorAtHeart
Don't ask, I don't know!
 
AviatorAtHeart's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chalfont St Peter
Posts: 314
AviatorAtHeart is on a distinguished road
Question

The subject of wiring......

I plan to build this layout with dc point control and eventually dcc track control.
This view has been echoed by my local model shop, that is, dcc would work best on this layout, it would be far easier to wire the main display (train pulls in, shunter removes wagons, train leaves, shunter takes load into goods handling)

I have my heart set of the nce starter package. (In the distant future!!!!!!)

As I understand things, the track power is a separate circuit to the motor feeds.

Could 50/0.1 be used in place of 32/0.2? (Track power, inc. droppers)

Would 7/0.2 be sufficient for point motor feeds?
Should I use 16/0.2 here.......
(My heart wants cobalt omega stall motors)

The track is not likely to see more than 5amps. (Booster box if necessary)

Regarding the point motors.......
The in built relay, I'm assuming these are electrically isolated from the motor feed?

Wire is one of my minor behind the scenes orders currently being compiled.
Any help here would be appreciated, hopefully I'm making some sort of sense to somebody!

I have a whole series of electrically related questions so they will all appear here!
The deeper I get, the more I have.......
__________________

You can only drink so much lemonade
AviatorAtHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2017, 08:55 AM   #3
Tinker
Motive Power Supervisor
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: N W Norfolk
Posts: 2,325
Tinker is on a distinguished road
Default

If you intend to run 5 amps a NCE SB5 and a ProCab are all that's needed add in short circuit protection, NCE do a unit.....I have the above setup it runs 50+ Cobalts several Duel Frog and a Hex Frog units A couple of ADSL 6 way units, plus with up to 6 trains running ( new loco's ) the Ramp Meter hardly ever goes over 2 amps.......
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2017, 11:18 AM   #4
AviatorAtHeart
Don't ask, I don't know!
 
AviatorAtHeart's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chalfont St Peter
Posts: 314
AviatorAtHeart is on a distinguished road
Default

If you run 50 cobalts you'll have the answer!
What wire spec. do you feed the motors with?

I'm not so sure I'll need 5A, this layout will probably only be able to manage 4 trains.
I can only reasonably see 3 on the layout, shunter, freight and passenger......
(This will probably be a mixed load and shunter and occasional visits from the LMR!)

It's just in the back of my mind for maximum conceivable load/wire spec
__________________

You can only drink so much lemonade
AviatorAtHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2017, 11:18 AM   #5
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 8,309
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

NCE Starter package would be the PowerCab. Depending on mains power supply up to 2.0Amps output Absolute maximum 3.0Amp. Generally as supplied around 1.5 to 1.8Amps.
For stall point motors 7/0.2mm wire is correct. For solenoid motors use 16/0.2mm wire.
I feel 50/0.1mm wire may well be far too small for a DCC bus pair. Its rated at 2.5Amp and is approx 38AWG (according to Maplin). The minimum DCC bus wire size I recommend to use is 32/0.2mm which is 6 to 10Amp rating or approx 17AWG
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2017, 11:26 AM   #6
AviatorAtHeart
Don't ask, I don't know!
 
AviatorAtHeart's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chalfont St Peter
Posts: 314
AviatorAtHeart is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi FB, I'm really sorry I got the spec wrong, it's 55/0.1 extra flex test cable from rapid.
Listed as 6A, which is why I'm considering it.
https://www.rapidonline.com/rapid-gw...ck-25m-01-0605

From what I've read from you so far on here, I will take your opinion as gospel!

(Might I be excused that error, you know, overwhelmed by excitement!)
As soon as I read 2.5A in your post, I realised I made a mistake somewhere.
__________________

You can only drink so much lemonade

Last edited by AviatorAtHeart; 21-08-2017 at 11:29 AM.
AviatorAtHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2017, 11:38 AM   #7
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 8,309
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

Its marginal. It may do the job depending on length of wire run? But I dont think I would use it.
Rapid say its a maximum 6Amp rating which is reasonable for small layouts
Strangely Maplin are selling the same size wire (more expensive!) but rate it only at 2.5Amp which then makes it unsuitable! Link to Maplin

Remember; while the normal current rating of the DCC bus wire is important, so too is its ability to withstand fault currents and have a low resistance path thereby allowing any fault currents to flow instantaneously back to the DCC console/booster etc and allow the systems overload circuit to immediately trip.
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!

Last edited by Flashbang; 21-08-2017 at 11:44 AM. Reason: Text altered
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2017, 01:39 PM   #8
Tinker
Motive Power Supervisor
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: N W Norfolk
Posts: 2,325
Tinker is on a distinguished road
Default

My own DCC buse is 32/0.2 from the Booster it splits into 2 districts with each pair terminated in a filter length of each bus is around 11-12m, all the points are Peco Code 100 and have 16/0.2 droppers to feed the Cobalts and the Frog switching.
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2017, 06:48 PM   #9
AviatorAtHeart
Don't ask, I don't know!
 
AviatorAtHeart's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chalfont St Peter
Posts: 314
AviatorAtHeart is on a distinguished road
Default

Cheers guys.
Marginal is no good!
(Cheers for the resistance path pointer, clearly something I overlooked!)
Think I'll stick with tried and tested.

(I'm assuming track code and gauge make no difference here)

For electronics I find rapid electronics or rs online the best bet, or for smaller quantities you can't go wrong with bitsbox. I've ordered from all three several times and have had no issues. Each site has it's own qualities. All do a very good job of packing your order!

Edit, just checked the maplin link, if I looked properly, 25! For 25 meters.......
That is very expensive.
__________________

You can only drink so much lemonade

Last edited by AviatorAtHeart; 21-08-2017 at 06:56 PM.
AviatorAtHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2017, 07:02 PM   #10
AviatorAtHeart
Don't ask, I don't know!
 
AviatorAtHeart's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chalfont St Peter
Posts: 314
AviatorAtHeart is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinker View Post
My own have 16/0.2 droppers to feed the Cobalts and the Frog switching.
Is the reason for this dcc controlled points?
__________________

You can only drink so much lemonade
AviatorAtHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bampton, driver, electronics, motor, stall



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.