Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > DCC


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19-06-2018, 08:18 PM   #1
mickrick
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Crewe
Posts: 63
mickrick is on a distinguished road
Default bachmann dynamis

help needed,i have been running dymamis ez dcc for about 4 years now with little or no trouble.suddenly its all gone pear shaped,any command i enter starts the handset scrolling thro the programmed loco numbers and the menu list which means i cant control individual locos.anybody had a similar problem,i have tried all the usual things such as changing batteries,switching off pc router etc etc etc.the system is located where it is now for years with no problem,can anybody help please
mickrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2018, 08:38 PM   #2
Rog (RJ)
Super Duper Moderator ;-)
 
Rog (RJ)'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Nottm, UK
Posts: 1,620
Rog (RJ) is on a distinguished road
Default

I think I've read that this is caused by a faulty joystick. I think there's a quick fix that may work but I can't remember what it is.
__________________
If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't say anything.

Rog (RJ)
Rog (RJ) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2018, 11:10 PM   #3
Bazil
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: 5905'58.9"N 316'24.4"W
Posts: 499
Bazil is on a distinguished road
Default

Quick fix is cleaning out the thumbstick sensor with a solvent cleaner. But it is only temporary it will come back. A more permanent fix is to get the thumbstick bit replaced.

Last edited by Bazil; 20-06-2018 at 09:03 PM.
Bazil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 09:16 AM   #4
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 8,419
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

Either use a can of air blaster (compressed air used for computer and such cleaning) in the joy stick slots or a contact cleaner. Be very cautious with solvents though as some could soften or melt the plastic' Only use specifically produced contact cleaning fluid.
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 10:14 AM   #5
mickrick
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Crewe
Posts: 63
mickrick is on a distinguished road
Default

thank you,yes it all appears to revolve around the joystick movement.is it a return to bachmann for joystick repair or are they available elsewhere ?.when you say clean around the joystick sensor do you mean the joystick unit or the sensors at the top of the unit ?
mickrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 11:37 AM   #6
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 8,419
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

Spray air / contact cleaner etc into the slot where the joystick shaft emerges from the front, should be a small slot to get the sprays delivery tube into. I have to say its a very 'hit and miss' operation.

AFAIK its a return to Bachmann replacement. The failure of the joystick is a well know fault of the Dynamis
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 08:39 PM   #7
4VEP
Hornby Collector
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Rye East Sussex
Posts: 649
4VEP is on a distinguished road
Default

http://service.bachmann.co.uk
__________________
Railway Modelling is about life, the universe and everything.
4VEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 09:19 PM   #8
Bazil
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: 5905'58.9"N 316'24.4"W
Posts: 499
Bazil is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickrick View Post
return to bachmann for joystick repair or are they available elsewhere ?
Probably a really common part but you'd have to know what it was to find a replacement. Its 6 pin, probably used in something like cheap aftermarket xbox or ps controllers.
It is such a naff controller anyway, better off binning it and using anything else. I did.
Bazil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2018, 06:40 PM   #9
mickrick
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Crewe
Posts: 63
mickrick is on a distinguished road
Default

thanks for all your help,i have sprayed cleaner in as suggested and lo and behold its back up and running perfectly,dont know how long for but ok for time being.i am looking at other systems but must admit that the dynamis has done every thing i need it to do for a good few years now with really no problems.cheers to everybody who contributed.
mickrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2018, 07:40 PM   #10
4VEP
Hornby Collector
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Rye East Sussex
Posts: 649
4VEP is on a distinguished road
Default

I keep my Dynamis handset in a lady's makeup bag purloined from the Swimbo. Keeps it from gathering dust.
__________________
Railway Modelling is about life, the universe and everything.
4VEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.