Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-12-2017, 11:45 AM   #21
Teedoubleudee
All round good guy
 
Teedoubleudee's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Downham Market
Posts: 3,152
Teedoubleudee is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meld View Post
Well my 2.5 amp transformer has arrived, all wired up and it all works beautifully, it solved all the problems I was having, thanks for all the advice.
I can now start driving my trains with a piece of mind knowing the points have thrown in the correct position.
Excellent, well done and thank you for letting us know about your success, I'm sure it will help someone else down the line (pun not intended )
__________________
If I agreed with you, we'd both be wrong
Teedoubleudee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2017, 11:52 AM   #22
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 8,364
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

Glad to read your up and running correctly.
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2017, 06:00 PM   #23
Meld
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 32
Blog Entries: 1
Meld is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Guys,
Spoke to soon although it's not a disaster, but I have a Bachmann class 37 brand new bought it in the summer fresh out the box it was lovely but since finishing off my layout I have tried it again runs lovely except it goes in reverse to what I tell it I am fairly sure it was going the right way when I first had although I am starting to doubt myself, the problem is if I try to reprogram it on my Hornby Elite it still goes in reverse to what I ask, I have programmed it about six times now and it just wont have it, I have reversed other trains with this problem with total success so I am sure i'm doing it correct, any idea's.
Meld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2017, 08:06 PM   #24
Rog (RJ)
Super Duper Moderator ;-)
 
Rog (RJ)'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Nottm, UK
Posts: 1,579
Rog (RJ) is on a distinguished road
Default

Read CV 29. If it is an even number, add 1 to it and write that back to CV 29
If CV 29 contains an odd number, subtract 1 from it and then write it back to CV 29.
__________________
If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't say anything.

Rog (RJ)
Rog (RJ) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2017, 12:43 PM   #25
Meld
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 32
Blog Entries: 1
Meld is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for that Rog I will give that a try over the Christmas break when I can fit it in.
Meld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2017, 12:49 PM   #26
Meld
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 32
Blog Entries: 1
Meld is on a distinguished road
Default

Tried what you suggested Rog (RJ) and it worked a treat, first time I have read and changed a CV so was was pleased with that, thank you Rog
Meld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2017, 01:01 PM   #27
Rog (RJ)
Super Duper Moderator ;-)
 
Rog (RJ)'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Nottm, UK
Posts: 1,579
Rog (RJ) is on a distinguished road
Default

Glad to help, nice to hear it worked for you.
__________________
If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't say anything.

Rog (RJ)
Rog (RJ) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 10:47 PM   #28
oncomin5torm
Senior Member
 
oncomin5torm's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Little Neston
Posts: 274
oncomin5torm is on a distinguished road
Default

So I do not make another thread on this topic I thought I would post this here.

I am looking to buy 5 point motors for my layout, I know its only small but Its also a proof of concept for myself to see how to do all these things before I move onto the larger layout at some point this year.

I am planning on going for the under baseboard mounted gaugemaster seep motors, they seem pretty good and fairly easy to wire in, I am a wiring novice.
My only bone of contention is when the PM-1 says with Switch and PM-2 says without switch, what does that mean?

Ta
Alex
__________________
Don't try to be a great man, just be a man.
Let history make it's own judgments.
oncomin5torm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 11:31 PM   #29
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 4,005
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

The PM1 has an inbuilt switch that allows for either frog polarity switching on electrofrog points or it can be used to switch lights on a mimic board. The PM2 does not have the inbuilt switch.
Just be aware that some say the switch can be unreliable if the point motor is not perfectly set up. Personally I would fit the PM1 even if you don't need the switch now but you may want it later.
No doubt others will be along to extol other types of PM but these are simple and a great place for the novice to start with as they learn the ropes.
P.S. I have around 120 on my layout and very few problems have occurred - although I don't rely on the switch for frog polarity just in case.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 11:37 PM   #30
Tricky Dicky
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 646
Tricky Dicky is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oncomin5torm View Post
So I do not make another thread on this topic I thought I would post this here.

I am looking to buy 5 point motors for my layout, I know its only small but Its also a proof of concept for myself to see how to do all these things before I move onto the larger layout at some point this year.

I am planning on going for the under baseboard mounted gaugemaster seep motors, they seem pretty good and fairly easy to wire in, I am a wiring novice.
My only bone of contention is when the PM-1 says with Switch and PM-2 says without switch, what does that mean?

Ta
Alex
The PM 1 has a built in changeover switch which is activated by the movement of the armature in the motor. This can be used to switch indicator LEDs or more commonly to switch the polarity of the frog in electro frog points rather than rely on the rail contact. Unfortunately it is not a particularly good design of switch consisting of a washer that slides across a couple of pads on a circuit board and is known to fail over time due to wear on the pads or oxidation. You might be better sticking with the PM 2 without the switch which is a perfectly sound motor and if you want frog polarity control use a micro switch activated by the movement of the tie bar in the point.

Richard
Tricky Dicky is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.