Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > Analogue


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2018, 07:58 AM   #1
yelrow
Senior Member
 
yelrow's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: burgandy france
Posts: 1,066
yelrow is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Peco Lever operated on/off switches PL22

Morning, just received 12 of these brand new from my son in uk, via car boot.He bought them to operate my n gauge points. They however only have 2 contacts. Will they work, and if not, is there a way of wiring them so they will. My thought was they needed 3 contacts. He wants a photo of them working. john
yelrow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 08:45 AM   #2
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,229
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

ON/OFF switches are no good for points. You need PL-26 passing contact switches.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!

Last edited by Walkingthedog; 11-05-2018 at 08:47 AM.
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 08:49 AM   #3
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,947
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

I think you have solenoid motors John, in which case those switches won't work. You need the passing contact ones with three terminals and coloured levers - PL26 R/Y/B/W
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 09:15 AM   #4
yelrow
Senior Member
 
yelrow's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: burgandy france
Posts: 1,066
yelrow is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Yup, i understand that, but wondered if there was a way to make them work, by extra wiring, or summat. Dont want to upset the lad. plus the fact that these have their holders for 6, and are kinda pretty
yelrow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 09:17 AM   #5
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,229
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

No they can only be used for isolating sections of track or turning light on and off etc. Buy some PL-26 they look the same and he won’t know any difference.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 09:36 AM   #6
yelrow
Senior Member
 
yelrow's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: burgandy france
Posts: 1,066
yelrow is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Have you seen the price. 12 of those will break the bank. john
yelrow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2018, 07:26 PM   #7
yelrow
Senior Member
 
yelrow's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: burgandy france
Posts: 1,066
yelrow is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

sorted out some fleischmann point switches, so will use peco switches to keep locos from moving whilst in main station. Have seven lines which need isolating. Is it best to break both rails, between switch, or is one enough. john
yelrow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2018, 08:08 PM   #8
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,947
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

Just one John.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2018, 08:36 PM   #9
yelrow
Senior Member
 
yelrow's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: burgandy france
Posts: 1,066
yelrow is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thanks Steve, john
yelrow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2018, 01:02 PM   #10
Gordon H
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 52
Gordon H is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yelrow View Post
Yup, i understand that, but wondered if there was a way to make them work, by extra wiring, or summat.
They could be used, but only with some extra circuitry. The MERG PD3 and PMD1 modules are designed to work this way, with a simple on/off switch.
Gordon H is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.