Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Specific Gauge Topics > N Gauge

N Gauge N Gauge model railway topics


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-06-2018, 02:38 PM   #41
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,439
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4VEP View Post
If I may put my oar in as someone who has just acquired an elink. Something it allows you to do is have the train come into the station, uncouple the loco, run round the train and pull out of the station. I must add however I haven't got it going yet! DCC is a good thing to get if you enjoy running a station, playing announcements, keeping the trains on time etc.

Why do you need DCC for that?I can understand a loco pulling a train into a station then another pulling the coaches out. On DC that requires an isolated section, on DCC it doesnít.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2018, 02:40 PM   #42
chris_db4
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 559
chris_db4 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4VEP View Post
If I may put my oar in as someone who has just acquired an elink. Something it allows you to do is have the train come into the station, uncouple the loco, run round the train and pull out of the station. I must add however I haven't got it going yet! DCC is a good thing to get if you enjoy running a station, playing announcements, keeping the trains on time etc.
I'm not sure how DCC makes that operation achievable in a way DC doesn't.
chris_db4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2018, 02:49 PM   #43
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,439
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

I havenít got a station.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2018, 05:53 PM   #44
4VEP
Hornby Collector
 
4VEP's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Rye East Sussex
Posts: 650
4VEP is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_db4 View Post
I'm not sure how DCC makes that operation achievable in a way DC doesn't.
With Railmaster you can programme train movements to and the computer will make an announcement relevant to that destination.
__________________
Railway Modelling is about life, the universe and everything.
4VEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2018, 06:04 PM   #45
yelrow
Senior Member
 
yelrow's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: burgandy france
Posts: 1,075
yelrow is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

4vep, if you want to develop RM, take a look at Stingrays post on Hornby forum. He runs complete layout on designated programs. Many of us have RM, and use announcements, but Ray takes it to another level. john
yelrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2018, 06:07 PM   #46
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,439
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

You can get it all working then go out for the day and let it get on with it.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2018, 06:37 PM   #47
Footplate1947
Eternal Optimist
 

Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Cumbria and Scotish boarder.
Posts: 2,081
Footplate1947 is on a distinguished road
Default

I think if I was starting today I would go for DCC but it may be good idea building a small layout in just DC to start with then you can decide if you are going to be bitten by the Model Railway bug and go for it proper one with DCC and all the trimmings.
There is no doubt about it, a DCC setup is going to cost a lot more money which could be a factor depending how flush you feel. LOL ..
Dont let anyone tell you otherwise.
I would be inclined to start off with a simple layout in DC and see how it all works out and if you like it then go for it............What ever you choose to do welcome to the hobby and the fun is about to start
__________________
I may be wrong as I very often am. John
Footplate1947 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2018, 06:51 PM   #48
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,439
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

I would go DCC if I were starting today.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2018, 08:25 PM   #49
cadman
Senior Member
 
cadman's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Leighton Buzzard
Posts: 499
cadman is on a distinguished road
Default

£3000 pounds worth of DCC kit costs exactly the same as £3000 pounds worth of DC kit so DCC is not much more expensive and you can run a good size layout on one controller with only 2 or 3 power feeds.........make it as simple or complicated as you like..............HB
cadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2018, 08:44 PM   #50
yelrow
Senior Member
 
yelrow's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: burgandy france
Posts: 1,075
yelrow is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

New versus New, but Secondhand DC much cheaper, I do not know anyone who has spent £3000 on either, from the off. Wish i had that sort of cash. john
yelrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.