Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > DCC


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2018, 10:17 PM   #1
haveroid
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 13
haveroid is on a distinguished road
Default Howes sound decoder

I recently purchased a sound decoder from Howes for a Bachmann class 37 that I own and it was the refurbished version for this particular loco. The sound produced is excellent but for the sound of a fan that kicks in every 90 seconds and lasts for about 20 seconds. Could I ask has anyone on the forum purchased the same decoder and if so can this fan noise be stopped or will I need to have it re blown to the un- refurbished version. Thanks in advance for any advice given.

Haveroid
haveroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 10:32 PM   #2
brian1951
Super Moderator
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: at home or Lucerne
Posts: 4,385
brian1951 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thread moved to more appropriate area.
brian1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 10:38 PM   #3
cadman
Senior Member
 
cadman's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Leighton Buzzard
Posts: 458
cadman is on a distinguished road
Default

Surely the instructions that come with the decoder will tell you which CV to amend either to reduce that particular sound volume or turn it off.

Just looked at my Bachmann cl37 with Loksound manual.......Function F4 controls the fan on/off if that helps..........HB

Last edited by cadman; 01-06-2018 at 10:44 PM. Reason: add paragraph
cadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 07:49 AM   #4
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,194
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

As they say HB, if all else fails read the instructions.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 03:26 PM   #5
Shroomy
Chief Vinter
 
Shroomy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Plaxtol
Posts: 1,235
Shroomy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Have you asked howes ?
__________________
If it's green I am in
Shroomy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.