Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21-08-2017, 07:49 PM   #1
BigTed
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: East Riding of Yorkshire
Posts: 213
BigTed is on a distinguished road
Default Wire up PM1s in series?

Hullo.

I'm plodding on well with the old point motors, but have a question.

I have 3 or 4 instances on the layout where it's sensible for 1 switch to throw 2 points. I was advised to wire my Peco PL-10s in series and that seems straightforward as they have 2 switch inputs and 2 common returns.

I was hoping to do the same with some Gaugemaster PM-1s I have and also a PL-11 I have for where I can't fit in a motor.

But both the PM-1 and PL-11 only have 1 return output so I can't see how I'd wire 2 up in series.

Am I missing something? I'm only a beginner at all this electrical stuff.
BigTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2017, 08:20 PM   #2
Tinker
Motive Power Supervisor
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: N W Norfolk
Posts: 2,343
Tinker is on a distinguished road
Default

You could use a Double Pole Switch
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2017, 10:44 PM   #3
BigTed
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: East Riding of Yorkshire
Posts: 213
BigTed is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinker View Post
You could use a Double Pole Switch
Ha! I am!

Will see how the PL-10s do in series, but the PM1s I'll use the extra connections on the switches.
BigTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2017, 08:48 PM   #4
chris_db4
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 559
chris_db4 is on a distinguished road
Default

You will be wiring them in parallel not series so you are just making joints into same wire coming from the switch and I'm sure FB will be along momentarily with a full explanation
chris_db4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2017, 08:51 PM   #5
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 8,366
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

Hi
Not in series they won't work well if at all.
Best is to wire each motor directly from the same switch or passing contact lever. Run two pairs of operating wires from the switch of roughly the same length to each motors coil. Then connect together their returns. Use 16/0.2mm wire minimum. You use the same switch contacts for both motors.
Otherwise connect one operation wire from one motors coil to the other, then do the same with the other coils. Parallel connect them. Ideally in either case the return should be a larger wire size.
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2017, 09:52 PM   #6
Mike Parkes
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 231
Mike Parkes is on a distinguished road
Default

If you have a capacitor discharge unit then, whilst definitely not recommended, they may work in series - I have done in the past as a pretty crude way of reducing the extent of diodes in a diode matrix.
Mike Parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2017, 12:21 PM   #7
chris_db4
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 559
chris_db4 is on a distinguished road
Default

Who advised you to wire them in series, especially when the feeling here is a parallel connection will give you the same result and work better
chris_db4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2017, 01:02 PM   #8
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,298
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

Surely you should never wire point motors in series.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2017, 04:16 PM   #9
BigTed
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: East Riding of Yorkshire
Posts: 213
BigTed is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkingthedog View Post
Surely you should never wire point motors in series.
Perhaps - I think then I misread this post by yoU!

http://www.modelrailwayforum.co.uk/s...0&postcount=24
BigTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2017, 04:24 PM   #10
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,298
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes you did. Connect in parallel not series. I didn't put that because I thought it was common knowledge. When I first used point motors I read about how to do it. No such thing s the internet then. You didn't actually misread my reply because I didn't mention series or parallel, you did what I often do, assume the wrong one. Story of my life
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.