Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Location location location

Location location location Where can I keep my model railway?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-10-2017, 12:20 AM   #11
paul178
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 8
paul178 is on a distinguished road
Default

Just one thing,security. Solid padlocks from door to frame and a metal plate on the frame covering the mechanism that holds the door shut at the top
paul178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2017, 01:31 AM   #12
mijj
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 317
mijj is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul178 View Post
Just one thing,security. Solid padlocks from door to frame and a metal plate on the frame covering the mechanism that holds the door shut at the top
I am not sure that is possible on the roller door. The up and over door could not be opened from outside as I had inserted bars in the mechanism-effectively locking it from the inside. With the new door it may be sufficient to pull the plug from the mains and remove the manual winder.I'll have to plug it back in when SWMBO arrives (in power chair) to replenish the beer fridge and wants to use her remote (some hopes ).
Jim.
PS Have got wing nuts and washers for the leg height adjustment today.

Last edited by mijj; 18-10-2017 at 01:32 AM.
mijj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2017, 01:01 PM   #13
Mr Bones
Privateer
 
Mr Bones's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Canterbury
Posts: 617
Mr Bones is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Which plug remote are you using and would you recommend it?

Like you I don't want to have to bend down under base boards to turn on the power in the shed when it's complete.
__________________
Having a teenager at home is like having a blender you don't have a lid for!
Mr Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2017, 01:50 PM   #14
Tinker
Motive Power Supervisor
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: N W Norfolk
Posts: 2,102
Tinker is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bones View Post
Which plug remote are you using and would you recommend it?

Like you I don't want to have to bend down under base boards to turn on the power in the shed when it's complete.
Get radio controlled plug in sockets, just have a main cut out switch near the door as a safety switch when you pack up for the night.....


http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Remote-Con...cAAOSw-itXrYf9
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2017, 02:49 PM   #15
Mr Bones
Privateer
 
Mr Bones's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Canterbury
Posts: 617
Mr Bones is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

That's what I'm after. Have you used that one? I was after recommendations.

Thankfully Tinker the main shed power can be isolated by a switch inside the house for the end of the day.
__________________
Having a teenager at home is like having a blender you don't have a lid for!
Mr Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2017, 03:29 PM   #16
yelrow
Senior Member
 
yelrow's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: burgandy france
Posts: 737
yelrow is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Must be very worrying, all this security / lock stuff. Over here, touch wood, we lock nothing, workshop, garage, even the car stays unlocked. Went out monday, shopping and left front door open, not on purpose. Train room, upstairs can only be reached through the house, so thats secure. Forgotten what it was like to have to be security minded. Certainly in uk, insurance insisted on window locks, dead locks, etc, in lancaster, but over here, farmers keep everyone under a fatherly eye. Anything/ anybody out of the ordinary, would be quickly spotted. john
yelrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2017, 03:52 PM   #17
mijj
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 317
mijj is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinker View Post
Get radio controlled plug in sockets, just have a main cut out switch near the door as a safety switch when you pack up for the night.....
That looks very much like it and of course I have yet to use it properly. I have plugged the saws (table and chopsaw) into it and have used it like that but not on a railway model .
It means that I have no searching as I exit the garage, I switch everything off, except the light of course. That is on a separate switch.
I think I'll get a couple more for this room where I have two sets of four outlets. Both are in awkward places to switch off.
Jim.
mijj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2017, 05:04 PM   #18
RogerB
Moderator
 
RogerB's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dorset
Posts: 4,442
RogerB is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bones View Post
That's what I'm after. Have you used that one? I was after recommendations.
I have those RC switches on lights to save wandering around and bending underneath and around furniture. I have also invested in programmable switches (TP-Link) for room lighting. Not suitable for layout though.

Only uninvited guests in here in 5 years was a squirrel, two swallows (twice) and a sparrow. R-
__________________
I'm not sure if I have loads of free time - or I've just forgotten to do something really important?
OO Gauge : Train Controller Gold with Elite/CTI : 13 Locomotives
RogerB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.