Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > General Modelling

General Modelling Use this area for modelling items that don't fit elsewhere

Old 23-06-2018, 03:14 PM   #1
mcleod4569

mcleod4569 is on a distinguished road
Default I am just starting out...

So I am just starting out with my model railway ambitions - the past few weeks I have been planning a layout.

I want to get the ball rolling so to speak with a starter train set but I couldn't find one that suited me loco wise. So I thought about getting the component parts separately.

Trouble is I am not sure of exactly what I should be getting with regards to a controller and connecting it to the track. If someone could provide a list of what I need I would be very grateful.

I should say I will be working in N Gauge.
mcleod4569 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2018, 03:49 PM   #2
Bunkerbarge

Bunkerbarge is on a distinguished road

I'm afraid, as is so often the case with these questions, we need more information to be able to give an answer. There simply is no such things as a 'list' of what you need before you decide on what you want to do. A set simply provides you with a loop of track, a very basic controller and a locomotive to go around it.

In your case from your track plan you can now put together a track list to buy but you then need to decide on whether you want to run more than one train at a time.

Assuming you want to use DC you will need to purchase a DC controller which will either power one or two circuits. You will need to decide on how you want to split your track to seperate the two power supplies and then where you need to connect the power.

If you want to start with a single circuit then a very simple and cheap Hornby controller such as a R8250 would do. Added to that you need a transformer, R9300 and a power track R8206 (That one is for OO gauge), plus your track list and you can be away.