Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > Other


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2017, 05:33 PM   #1
SOOTY1951
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
SOOTY1951 is on a distinguished road
Default Points problem

I need some help please. I am using 5 Peco side mounted turnout motors on my track. I have successfully wired up 4 of them using terminal blocks to 4 Peco passing contact changeovers in the Peco switch module unit (PL50). I am using the Gaugemaster CDU unit.

However the fifth one is proving a nightmare. Without the electricity switched on , when I connect the black wire into the module unit, I get a slight electric crackling noise and when the green and red are connected and the electricity then switched on, nothing works nor do the other 4. Why does it make that noise if the electricity is not switched on?
When that 5th one is disconnected, all the other 4 work ok.
I am a total novice re electrics so not sure what the problem is.
Is it a defective point motor?
Is it the 5th switch module extension (PL5) which is faulty?
Hope someone can help?
SOOTY1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 07:45 PM   #2
Mountain Goat
Senior Member
 
Mountain Goat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK.
Posts: 1,769
Mountain Goat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I'm not sure what is wrong, but I'd say the electrical crackling noise is a bad sign. Possibly a short?
Try to draw up a wiring diagram or take clear pics and show them here and I'm sure somebody can look and examine if there are any issues. Best to wait before using or wiring the fifth point for now. Just until someone checks all is OK.
It is unlikely it is a faulty switch as you are more likely to get a solenoid (Point motor) buzz if it is an issue as a faulty switch will either keep the current on or not supply current at all.

Last edited by Mountain Goat; 12-11-2017 at 07:48 PM.
Mountain Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 07:47 PM   #3
Mike Parkes
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 153
Mike Parkes is on a distinguished road
Default

Try testing the point motor directly with two wires from a 16v ac supply. Difficult to understand how with one wire connected it can be causing a short.

Last edited by Mike Parkes; 12-11-2017 at 07:49 PM.
Mike Parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 07:48 PM   #4
Rog (RJ)
Super Duper Moderator ;-)
 
Rog (RJ)'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Nottm, UK
Posts: 1,470
Rog (RJ) is on a distinguished road
Default

Possibly creating a short circuit in the switch when you connect the black wire in to it. Can you swap the position of one of the other working switches to see what happens. I can't help much more than this as I am not familiar with the switch module.
__________________
If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't say anything.

Rog (RJ)
Rog (RJ) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 07:50 PM   #5
Mountain Goat
Senior Member
 
Mountain Goat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK.
Posts: 1,769
Mountain Goat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOOTY1951 View Post
I need some help please. I am using 5 Peco side mounted turnout motors on my track. I have successfully wired up 4 of them using terminal blocks to 4 Peco passing contact changeovers in the Peco switch module unit (PL50). I am using the Gaugemaster CDU unit.

However the fifth one is proving a nightmare. Without the electricity switched on , when I connect the black wire into the module unit, I get a slight electric crackling noise and when the green and red are connected and the electricity then switched on, nothing works nor do the other 4. Why does it make that noise if the electricity is not switched on?
When that 5th one is disconnected, all the other 4 work ok.
I am a total novice re electrics so not sure what the problem is.
Is it a defective point motor?
Is it the 5th switch module extension (PL5) which is faulty?
Hope someone can help?
Try to draw how you have wired them up. Someone here can check it looks OK.
Mountain Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 11:49 PM   #6
Mike Parkes
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 153
Mike Parkes is on a distinguished road
Default

I take it as you have 4 working then you are connecting the wires correctly. On Peco prewired motors the common is green whereas on Hornbys it is black. Still do not understand how you can get an "electric crackling" noise merely by connecting a single wire unless the module is somehow faulty. Suggest you disconnect one of the working motors from the module and try the fifth motor in that connection. If it works then the module is faulty.
Mike Parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2017, 12:55 AM   #7
mijj
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 417
mijj is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Parkes View Post
Still do not understand how you can get an "electric crackling" noise merely by connecting a single wire unless the module is somehow faulty.
Is the capicitor (CDU) still in circuit?
Jim.
mijj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2017, 01:24 PM   #8
SOOTY1951
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
SOOTY1951 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mijj View Post
Is the capicitor (CDU) still in circuit?
Jim.
yes it is...........
SOOTY1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2017, 01:34 PM   #9
SOOTY1951
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
SOOTY1951 is on a distinguished road
Default

I have done that and what was a working module is no longer working. Ihe black module did work once but I had to disconnect everything when we moved house recently from Reading to the Bristol area. Now putting everything back together to discover this points problem. It's strange that it is the black wire which crackles when inserted into the bottom of the 3 connector holes. I've taken some photos but can't see how I attach them to my reply.Thanks everybody for all your help.
SOOTY1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2017, 01:38 PM   #10
ians
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 71
ians is on a distinguished road
Default

If you use quote you get an option to use a paperclip - I assume that is the method for attaching images.
ians is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.