Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Members layouts

Members layouts Dedicated area to show the community your model railway projects


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-12-2015, 12:03 AM   #1
tromboman
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 99
tromboman is on a distinguished road
Default Warner's End

Right, rather than filling up the "What are you doing..." thread I thought I'd create my own thread to fill with all the stuff relating to my layout (now that I actually have one rather than just a head full of ideas)

As you can see from above the layout is called Warner's End (named after the street my grandparents lived on, no connection to any railway I just thought it was a good name.) It's set sometime late steam/early diesel but it's my railway and if I have anything else then I'll run that too!

I've attached a track plan and an overhead view so you can get a general idea of where the layout stands at this point.

Buildings so far have been mainly free Wordsworth kits with a couple of Metcalfe and some scratchbuilt thrown in.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Warner's End.jpg (227.2 KB, 133 views)
File Type: jpg 12243843_10207603755948231_267538612_n.jpg (92.8 KB, 162 views)
tromboman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2015, 12:11 AM   #2
tromboman
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 99
tromboman is on a distinguished road
Default

So on tonight's agenda was:

1) Putting stone paper on the bridge to start to make it look slightly less like 2mm greycard. Success!

2) Wire up the lamppost on the platform next to the station building. Semi success!?

Lights work but another bulb blew, that's now 3 bulbs gone out of a pack of 8 lampposts (2 bulbs per post) so it looks like an email to the seller is back on the agenda for tomorrow. Still at least they look good.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 12395345_10207803328257414_925712981_n.jpg (84.5 KB, 115 views)
File Type: jpg 10287148_10207803330217463_1118847493_n.jpg (92.5 KB, 98 views)
tromboman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2015, 07:59 AM   #3
Captain Bubble
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 924
Captain Bubble is on a distinguished road
Default

Good start; I like the attitude that it's your railway and you will run it how you like!
Captain Bubble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2015, 09:49 AM   #4
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 4,005
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

I know the subject of your light bulbs blowing has been discussed elsewhere but for what it's worth I run mine from a regulated 9v DC supply but route it through an old controller to be able to vary the intensity of the light.
When turned down low it simulates gaslight very closely.
Additionally if the bulbs are rated at only 6v I daisy chain them in pairs to halve the voltage.
No blown bulbs that way.
Steve M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2015, 11:38 AM   #5
ChrisN
Barmy and proud of it.
 

Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 25
ChrisN is on a distinguished road
Default

Warner's End looks like it's coming on well.

[good tip too Steve, thanks]
ChrisN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2015, 01:08 PM   #6
tromboman
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 99
tromboman is on a distinguished road
Default

These lights were sold as 12v, they're now being run on 9v so should (in theory) be fine but that one went within seconds of being switched on.
tromboman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2015, 01:18 PM   #7
tromboman
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 99
tromboman is on a distinguished road
Default

Been in touch with the seller and she's sending me some replacements so thumbs up from me
tromboman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2015, 11:03 PM   #8
tromboman
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 99
tromboman is on a distinguished road
Default

Not much has been going on at Warner's End over Christmas as I've been too full of food to bend over the layout

I have been thinking of making some easily removable sections of track so that I can run trains in a loop from time to time rather than just end to end, no scenery just track on some ply.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Running track 2.jpg (246.4 KB, 71 views)
tromboman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2015, 06:03 PM   #9
SparkyChris
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK, Portsmouth
Posts: 113
SparkyChris is on a distinguished road
Default

Great start you are making here, look forward to following the progress.
Personally I like the option of just having the trains run by, which is why I avoided an end to end with my first layout.

Chris
SparkyChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2015, 06:05 PM   #10
tromboman
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 99
tromboman is on a distinguished road
Default

I wanted to a loop originally but the amount of space for anything other than just a simple loop was too big, hence the end to end. But I've realised I miss having trains running while I'm building other stuff for the layout.
tromboman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.