Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2018, 07:59 PM   #31
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,492
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks both.
Somehow I knew diodes would figure in the answer. Regrettably I donít believe it will work in my case as I am Ďcheatingí by piggybacking the indicators off the DCC bus which as we all know gives a form of AC current - I donít think the diodes would perform properly as a result. ??

I may have another option though, the left hand leg of the three way point leads straight into one leg of a single slip so I can possibly use the slip switches to control that led rather than the switches on the three way.

If that doesnít work I suppose I will have to introduce a 12v dc supply to this board and buy some diodes.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 09:28 PM   #32
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,492
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

Cracked it! I tried the option controlling the LED on the left leg of the three way from one of the switches on the linked single slip. That needed a second switch to control the two point motors independently but that is a small price to pay.
Tidy up the wiring tomorrow then on to the next two boards but they only need five LEDs in total and itís all simple on/off stuff.

2AA3438D-98A7-403D-9053-19285D67BA42 by Steve Mumford, on Flickr
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 10:35 PM   #33
RogerB
Moderator
 
RogerB's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dorset
Posts: 4,557
RogerB is on a distinguished road
Default

What a journey - we’ll done Steve, an inspiration to us all. R-
__________________
I'm not sure if I have loads of free time - or I've just forgotten to do something really important?
OO Gauge : Train Controller Gold with Elite/CTI : 13 Locomotives
RogerB is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.