Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Baseboards

Baseboards All posts regarding baseboard construction


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27-10-2017, 09:22 AM   #11
Paul1066
Senior Member
 
Paul1066's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 211
Paul1066 is on a distinguished road
Default

From my experience, and I know this is difficult to do, you need to try and think of all the cuts and holes before you install your decks. I tried to think of this but still found myself cutting access holes with a jigsaw in the deck once it was in place. Makes a right old mess! I've used Peco Streamline electrofrog points and for double lines the spacing worked out at 50mm centre to centre for the straights but I increased this to 63mm for the curves so that rolling stock didn't foul each other on adjoining lines. If it helps, have a look through my thread "Sussex Runabout" in the Members Layout Forum - our layouts sound kinda similar so the photos might give you a few pointers of what to do and what not to do!

http://www.modelrailwayforum.co.uk/s...ead.php?t=9499

Keep us posted of progress
Paul1066 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2017, 11:10 AM   #12
Nokonium
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: St Clears, Carmarthenshire
Posts: 44
Blog Entries: 1
Nokonium is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the advice though I suspect that I will also have to get out the jigsaw too. I have looked at the line spacing and will double check it when I lay the track out. I have complicated mine with a station with 3 tracks.

Had a long look at the Sussex Roundabout very nice, interesting to see how you built it up. Certainly gave me some ideas on how to go about it.
Nokonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2017, 03:23 PM   #13
Nokonium
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: St Clears, Carmarthenshire
Posts: 44
Blog Entries: 1
Nokonium is on a distinguished road
Default

Been thinking and have a plan, as it is a relatively small part that needs to be lower and it is all part of the same feature, a canal, I can make a trough the deapth of the battens for the canal and use the rest of the base board as the underside of the second level. This should make most of the wiring easy to access.
Nokonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2017, 03:57 PM   #14
Nokonium
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: St Clears, Carmarthenshire
Posts: 44
Blog Entries: 1
Nokonium is on a distinguished road
Default

Have revised the layout several times now, track much less complicated, but ended up with 12 legs. Should be the final design as I've bought the track. Still have a canal in a gully and have a long incline with the base underneath removed which I used to make the incline. As best that I can tell I will have access to the underside of the track in all areas except where the highest level goes over a tunnel. Now onto laying the track and installing the electrics.
Nokonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2017, 05:32 PM   #15
Mountain Goat
Senior Member
 
Mountain Goat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK.
Posts: 1,642
Mountain Goat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Rapid progress there by the sounds of it. Take your time laying the track. Lay it smooth... Try to avoid sudden angles. This should ensure good reliable running.
Mountain Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2017, 12:44 PM   #16
Nokonium
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: St Clears, Carmarthenshire
Posts: 44
Blog Entries: 1
Nokonium is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks, but I am tending to spend most days in my shed

All R3 or R4 with the Setrack curves on the main dual track, so no sharp corners there. I have been using AnyRail6 to do the layout work which warns me if I'm bending flexible track into too tight a curve, so I shouldn't have anything less than R2 going into the branch line.
Nokonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2017, 03:56 PM   #17
Mountain Goat
Senior Member
 
Mountain Goat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK.
Posts: 1,642
Mountain Goat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I dont think AnyRail6 would like the curves on my layout! I think I have something about a half radius curve at a guess. Its all fun!
Radius 3 and 4 is luxury for most of us due to space, though even a large room has its limitations. I once tried to work out a model of Burry Port station and found that no matter what I did, there was no way I could squash in the platforms and the shunting yard area into the space I had.
Mountain Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2017, 04:01 PM   #18
Walkingthedog
Wine depleter
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 8,868
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

I wouldn't say 3rd and 4th were a luxury for most of us. I have nothing but 3rd and 4th on my layout and it isn't huge.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.