Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Members layouts

Members layouts Dedicated area to show the community your model railway projects


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28-03-2015, 01:52 PM   #11
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,200
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

Mmmmmm chips.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2015, 02:02 PM   #12
Rog (RJ)
Super Duper Moderator ;-)
 
Rog (RJ)'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Nottm, UK
Posts: 1,567
Rog (RJ) is on a distinguished road
Default

What software/firmware version does the Select have? This is displayed at startup as a sequence of numbers such as 12, 30, 03.

For use with the Select, it may be best to try a couple of Hornby R8249 decoders first as these are almost certainly going to work first time. I would then look at Lenz standard + decoders which will probably work OK with the Select but are slightly larger than the R8249.

You don't HAVE to change the frog polarity on the Peco electro frogs but it's recommended. They will work straight out of the box but you MUST fit insulated rail joiners to the two frog rails, even if you use frog switching. Frog switching, and other mods, just make the point more reliable, a sort of belt and braces job.
__________________
If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't say anything.

Rog (RJ)
Rog (RJ) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2015, 02:53 PM   #13
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,919
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Roger, thanks for the reply.
I've not plugged it in yet - haven't even built the baseboards for the shelf yet - but the booklet quotes 14.30.03. I'll check when I switch it on, but I have to placate SWMBO first.

I'm intrigued by your comment regarding electrofrogs. I understand the need for the isolating joiners but don't see how the frog would be made live to allow the locos to run. Surely the silver trailing wires would have to be connected somewhere?

I'll look out for a couple of the Hornby chips tomorrow. I know the Select is not that highly thought of but it was so cheap it gives me a chance to dabble in DCC to see if I like it before committing to a better system later on.
Steve M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2015, 03:08 PM   #14
RogerB
Moderator
 
RogerB's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dorset
Posts: 4,766
RogerB is on a distinguished road
Default

I'mm sure they will Steve. Still, better than being Washington DC I suppose? R-
__________________
I'm not sure if I have loads of free time - or I've just forgotten to do something really important?
OO Gauge : Train Controller Gold via Elite : Block sensors via CTI : Servo motors for points : 9 Locomotives
RogerB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2015, 03:14 PM   #15
brian1951
Super Moderator
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: at home or Lucerne
Posts: 4,386
brian1951 is on a distinguished road
Default

I would avoid the Hornby chips Steve
brian1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2015, 03:21 PM   #16
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,919
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian1951 View Post
I would avoid the Hornby chips Steve
Any particular reason, Brian?
Steve M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2015, 03:24 PM   #17
dynax
Senior Member
 
dynax's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 1,980
dynax is on a distinguished road
Default

all my chips are hornby,
__________________
Mike.
Michaels model railway

Give a man a fish and it will feed him for a day,
teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day!!
dynax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2015, 03:29 PM   #18
brian1951
Super Moderator
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: at home or Lucerne
Posts: 4,386
brian1951 is on a distinguished road
Default

I personally have had to many problems with them, Using Lenz as been a good move for me.
brian1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2015, 03:36 PM   #19
RogerB
Moderator
 
RogerB's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dorset
Posts: 4,766
RogerB is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M View Post
Any particular reason, Brian?
It could be the combination of loco and chip but all my Hornby X9659 chips have been problematic in some way or another. I have had 3 "pop" in quick succession and have asked Hornby to have a look at them as that seemed like a bad run of luck. As Brian says Lenz (Standard or Silver) are good enough for most purposes. R-
__________________
I'm not sure if I have loads of free time - or I've just forgotten to do something really important?
OO Gauge : Train Controller Gold via Elite : Block sensors via CTI : Servo motors for points : 9 Locomotives
RogerB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2015, 05:45 PM   #20
alfaz-di-pi
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Coventry
Posts: 3,978
alfaz-di-pi is on a distinguished road
Default

I found that the wires came adrift on three of my cheaper hornby chips. Now use mostly TCS.
Albert
alfaz-di-pi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.