Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Baseboards

Baseboards All posts regarding baseboard construction


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29-03-2018, 02:38 PM   #1
The Sligo Rover
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 12
The Sligo Rover is on a distinguished road
Default Baseboard - holes in frame for wiring?

Help the novice again please. Baseboards coming along very nicely, I have drilled 15mm holes in the frames for the wiring. Do you chaps recommend that I drill smaller holes for the bus wiring to keep it separate from other wiring routed through my 15mm holes? Should I keep the bus wires as near as possible directly below the tracks or does it not matter? It is much easier to drill now before I glue and screw so I would like to get it right first time if I can.
Are the bus wires kept away from other wiring to avoid any interference or does it not make any difference?
The Sligo Rover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2018, 03:25 PM   #2
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 8,307
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

Unless your layout is huge, running the DCC bus pair thorough the existing holes shouldn't cause any issues.
If desired you can twist the two DCC bus wires into a figure of 8. Twisting them to about 10 twists per Mtr of wire, but on small layouts its not necessary.
Try to feed into the bus pair from the DCC console in roughly the middle of the bus wire run, but again feeding input place is not critical.
Keeping the bus pair in the rough locality of the main tracks above is an advantage as it means the dropper wires rail to bus can be kept short.
If your 'Other wiring' is producing interference it will be picked up by the rails. So again don't worry unless you suffer issues later and these can often be resolved by fitting Bus Filters to the ends of the bus wires if ever need be.
I can see no point at all in making the bus pair a ring or continuous loop of wire. So long as the wire used for the bus pair is of suitable wire size then running as a radial circuit (end to end) will be cheaper on wire and avoid installing unwanted wire! I recommend to use 32/0.2mm equipment wire or 1.5mm2 solid wire as a minimum size for a bus wire.

These pages may offer some help with questions?... Link to web site
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2018, 03:56 PM   #3
Mr Bones
Privateer
 
Mr Bones's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Canterbury
Posts: 887
Mr Bones is on a distinguished road
Default

Good question and great reply FB. Out of interest what would you class as a huge layout? Would that relate to total length of track. Area covered or amount of dropper wires?

Still at the planning stage so this is useful information.
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
Mr Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2018, 04:22 PM   #4
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 8,307
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

IMO a Small layout is 8ft x 4ft. Medium layout up to around 20ft x 10ft and Large (huge) anything over that. But its a bit subjective re sizes.
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2018, 05:11 PM   #5
The Sligo Rover
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 12
The Sligo Rover is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you for your help, I am probably somewhere between small and medium.
I am sure that a few extra holes for wiring at this stage will do no harm at all. I have many more questions to ask but the shower has passed so I am getting the trestles outside again as I have more timber to cut.
The Sligo Rover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2018, 05:20 PM   #6
Rog (RJ)
Super Duper Moderator ;-)
 
Rog (RJ)'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Nottm, UK
Posts: 1,567
Rog (RJ) is on a distinguished road
Default

Thread moved to appropriate section.
__________________
If you can't say anything nice about someone, don't say anything.

Rog (RJ)
Rog (RJ) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2018, 06:41 PM   #7
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,210
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

On my old layout I had two bare wires for the bus so they went through separate holes about 3 inches apart.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.