Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Track Layout & Design

Track Layout & Design Help with designing your track work


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2017, 03:11 PM   #21
AviatorAtHeart
Don't ask, I don't know!
 
AviatorAtHeart's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chalfont St Peter
Posts: 314
AviatorAtHeart is on a distinguished road
Default The plan at this precise moment in time!

After a few computer sessions I have this!
I overlaid my track plan which was modified to an 8ft width (previous post, before mods) with an image of the airfield..........
Not too bad! I had to shift the weigh hut siding slightly northward but otherwise it is close enough!
The common crossing area is a bit suspect, but, close enough for rock and roll!
Another thing I just thought of! The platform may need muddling right a bit, or extending! As set it is 14", roughly three carriages, I measured the carriages from the longmoor train and settled on 36cm there or thereabouts.

What I think I need to do is build the base board as 8x2 with the other half of the sheet being cut down into a pair of 4x2 panels which will form the runarounds. Phew......this is getting more and more complex........
But the plan is solidifying.........

Where to next?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (911.1 KB, 29 views)
__________________

You can only drink so much lemonade

Last edited by AviatorAtHeart; 10-07-2017 at 03:26 PM.
AviatorAtHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 08:55 AM   #22
AviatorAtHeart
Don't ask, I don't know!
 
AviatorAtHeart's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chalfont St Peter
Posts: 314
AviatorAtHeart is on a distinguished road
Default Finalised plan!

This is it.

Baseboard at 7x2
(then it can easily stand vertically without fouling ceilings! 8ft is too long.)

With the wings either side, brings the layout out to 9x4.
Too big for a permanent set, but easy to hide......

I should be able to get a 6" panel for the back scene from the off cuts, so it works out pretty well if I keep to 7ft.

It seems there will be less airfield than I imagined a few weeks ago.........
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (254.0 KB, 19 views)
__________________

You can only drink so much lemonade
AviatorAtHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 09:13 AM   #23
RogerB
Moderator
 
RogerB's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dorset
Posts: 4,768
RogerB is on a distinguished road
Default

Essence of airfield is good Those loops at each end look tight, do you think your stock will be ok? R-
__________________
I'm not sure if I have loads of free time - or I've just forgotten to do something really important?
OO Gauge : Train Controller Gold via Elite : Block sensors via CTI : Servo motors for points : 9 Locomotives
RogerB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 09:15 AM   #24
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,931
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

If you haven't already done it you'll need to read up on reverse loops - you have one at each end.
Can't remember if you are D.C. Or DCC but each has a different potential solution.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 09:55 AM   #25
AviatorAtHeart
Don't ask, I don't know!
 
AviatorAtHeart's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chalfont St Peter
Posts: 314
AviatorAtHeart is on a distinguished road
Default

Good morning,
RB
I used R=9" for the turns. The red line in the middle is set at 9".
Where the curve sweeps from left to right (or R to L depending) I'll put as much straight as I can fit for transition (I read about that.....)
I'm fairly sure I can't make this any bigger? Maybe I can ease the curves to better fit the space....R10.5 I guess would be the maximum.......
I'm not concerned with looks in the grey area, this is off scene, just functionality.....

Do you think it will work?

Stock? I have none! All I own at this point is the longmoor military train with three carriages. (This is one train that immediately caught my attention, useful basic measuring device too!)

Yeah, essence of airfield it is.... much as I wanted airfield first, there wouldnt be much point in the rail portion, and the overall footprint would be monstrous! so, I'll at least get a few kits around the hanger area, I may use artistic license and rearrange that corner to better suit my desire for aviation!

At this point I'm concerned only with the baseboard and what happens with track etc.
I've been working out wood requirements (materials list) and one question that springs to mind......
What is the clearance below the board for the various gubbins, point motors etc....
Is 100mm sufficient....what is the minimum?

Steve, about the control method, I don't own a thing, and I don't know much about it either....I'm happy to hear views on either method....I've been reading as much as possible but it's overwhelming! At least I can, with this plan, hear views directly relating to my particular set up idea!
I'm happy to use whichever method would be best suited, although dcc is more costly, I've got to pick something soon enough, although I understand I can wire the track for dcc and use dc method, and if I change my mind at least the hard wiring is ready. That's the part that confuses me now, most reverse loop text entries are either single side loop or lack the double platform/passing siding....
It's going to take some major figuring out whatever way I turn!


I plan for the grey areas to be removable (storage, transport, extensions! Etc)
__________________

You can only drink so much lemonade
AviatorAtHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 10:00 AM   #26
RogerB
Moderator
 
RogerB's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dorset
Posts: 4,768
RogerB is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AviatorAtHeart View Post
All I own at this point is the longmoor military train with three carriages.
I don't know the details of that train, does it say anywhere, possibly on the box what the minimum radius that it will cope with might be? R-
__________________
I'm not sure if I have loads of free time - or I've just forgotten to do something really important?
OO Gauge : Train Controller Gold via Elite : Block sensors via CTI : Servo motors for points : 9 Locomotives
RogerB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 10:19 AM   #27
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,210
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

The loco is a 2-8-0, curves might may be a bit tight. Check the box.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 11:15 AM   #28
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,931
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

IMHO 9" radius and a 2-8-0 aren't going to play well together. As WTD says the box should indicate the minimum 'safe' radius for the loco.
As for wiring/control, I would consider starting off by wiring for D.C. (a basic controller is very cheap) to test everything works and as planned. If necessary it's easy to add isolating switches for the track sections and if/when you switch to DCC you just switch all the isolating switches to 'on'.
Assuming you keep the reverse loops, on D.C. You would need a DPDT switch to reverse polarity manually but the loop would have to be completely isolated from the rest of the layout and longer than your longest train. On DCC a reverse loop module would take care of polarity issues automatically - easier, but a bit more expensive.
I also presume you have found Brian Lambert's excellent online guide?
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 01:09 PM   #29
AviatorAtHeart
Don't ask, I don't know!
 
AviatorAtHeart's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Chalfont St Peter
Posts: 314
AviatorAtHeart is on a distinguished road
Default To quote homer......."DOH"

You guys are great!
(Check the box!!!)
Clearly proving my idiot status...........

Yes it clearly states min rad 10.5"
Handy things......instructions, one day I might get used to using them!

So, reworked the panels for the side.
Left side shown.......actually it hasn't worked out too bad.
Overall added 6" only to the outside width.

Bye bye backscene.......now we stand at 9'x4'6" overall.

Edit, yes I've been looking at Brian Lamberts page, that's where it got overwhelming!
I'm still having fun so......that's good!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2430.JPG (70.5 KB, 12 views)
__________________

You can only drink so much lemonade
AviatorAtHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 01:58 PM   #30
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,931
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

At least you are listening to (and acting on) advice. The small change you have made will make all the difference.
This is the section in the guide that covers reverse loops:

http://www.brian-lambert.co.uk/Elect...html#Reversing
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bampton, gwr, oxon, ww2



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.