Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Track Layout & Design

Track Layout & Design Help with designing your track work


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20-06-2018, 06:48 AM   #1
mcleod4569
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 17
mcleod4569 is on a distinguished road
Default Design Advice for N Gauge layout

So I have been using Anyrail to design what will hopefully become my N Gauge Layout. It has a single continuous running loop with a passing track and several sidings. The two sidings that are quite close together I intended to be where a shed will go. The other three long sidings will be for rolling stock. There is also a couple of extra sidings that branch off - I thought I could put locos there. The large open area to the right I intended to be for some buildings and other scenery - not sure exactly what yet.

What I do know is that I am not pinning this layout down to any particular era. I intend for it to have a sense of being set in the past, but not in any particular timeframe.

Any advice or feedback on this design would be appreciated. I would rather get it right in the design stage before laying any track down. I have attached the picture of the plan to this
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180620_063459.jpg (742.9 KB, 37 views)

Last edited by mcleod4569; 20-06-2018 at 06:49 AM. Reason: Spelling mistake
mcleod4569 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 07:53 AM   #2
RogerB
Moderator
 
RogerB's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dorset
Posts: 4,768
RogerB is on a distinguished road
Default

I think it looks great as it is. I wonder if you could get another point in just to the left of the level crossing and give yourself two passing tracks - and access to the sidings? Just a thought. R-
__________________
I'm not sure if I have loads of free time - or I've just forgotten to do something really important?
OO Gauge : Train Controller Gold via Elite : Block sensors via CTI : Servo motors for points : 9 Locomotives
RogerB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 08:00 AM   #3
Bunkerbarge
Senior Member
 
Bunkerbarge's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mid Lincolnshire in a field
Posts: 177
Bunkerbarge is on a distinguished road
Default

I was thinking more in terms of continuing the lower passing track in either direction with an additional point at either end and making a complete second loop. That way you can have locomotives passing in both directions all round the loop.
Bunkerbarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 08:40 AM   #4
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,931
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

Bb, I would steer away from that if it required R1 curves. If the two loops are R2/R3/R4 then it would be ok.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 09:37 AM   #5
Bunkerbarge
Senior Member
 
Bunkerbarge's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mid Lincolnshire in a field
Posts: 177
Bunkerbarge is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M View Post
Bb, I would steer away from that if it required R1 curves. If the two loops are R2/R3/R4 then it would be ok.
I'm talking of 'outside' the existing loop so whatever that is the radius of the additional one has to be greater.
Bunkerbarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 09:44 AM   #6
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,931
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bunkerbarge View Post
I'm talking of 'outside' the existing loop so whatever that is the radius of the additional one has to be greater.
My mistake. Although assuming the OP has drawn the baseboard accurately he may not have the room. The trackplan has no dimensions or indication of radius so who knows.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 07:13 PM   #7
mcleod4569
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 17
mcleod4569 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M View Post
Bb, I would steer away from that if it required R1 curves. If the two loops are R2/R3/R4 then it would be ok.
I actually was planning on using 1st radius curves. If I used 2nd or above I wouldn't have enough space.

What radius curves do Graham Farish use in their train sets? Because I've seen videos online of reviews and engines seem to go round them ok. Are they 1st or 2nd?
mcleod4569 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 07:29 PM   #8
cadman
Senior Member
 
cadman's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Leighton Buzzard
Posts: 461
cadman is on a distinguished road
Default

If you moved the bottom passing loop to the inside it would allow you to use 2nd radius curves which only need 70mm more in layout width so looking at your diagram I reckon it would work.....try it on another plan........HB
cadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2018, 10:06 PM   #9
mcleod4569
Junior Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 17
mcleod4569 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadman View Post
If you moved the bottom passing loop to the inside it would allow you to use 2nd radius curves which only need 70mm more in layout width so looking at your diagram I reckon it would work.....try it on another plan........HB
I've done what you suggested and changed to 2nd radius curves and flipped the passing loop. But now I don't have room for the station I was planning to put in along the longer side of the loop. It would have to go on the inside now which really limits how long a station I can do. Unless I get rid of the loop altogether which I'd rather not do.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180620_215900.jpg (729.0 KB, 15 views)
mcleod4569 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2018, 08:10 AM   #10
Silly Moo
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 88
Silly Moo is on a distinguished road
Default

Not all N gauge locos go round 1st radius curves well, so if you are able to use 2nd radius curves that would be better. With 1st radius curves you might be limited to smaller steam locos and diesels and set track 1st radius points can cause problems too.

I notice that very little information is given on the Farish website which is not good at all.
Silly Moo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.