Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Specific Gauge Topics > OO Scale

OO Scale OO model railway topics


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-05-2018, 11:34 PM   #21
hallrailways
Junior Member
 

Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 11
hallrailways is on a distinguished road
Default

00 Lima class 37 br green split headcode and Hornby Class 47 xp64 style livery 5 pole ringfield
hallrailways is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2018, 11:45 PM   #22
Mountain Goat
Unique Member.
 
Mountain Goat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK.
Posts: 2,285
Mountain Goat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I love the sound of a Lima loco like a Western zooming by on a large layout with a ten coach train at full speed! The noise of it is thrilling!
Mountain Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2018, 07:55 AM   #23
Lexicaltje
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 157
Lexicaltje is on a distinguished road
Default

Just got my bachmann class 08 today which was brand new. Seems like a decent runner, though i have to say fitting the DCC chip was a total pain. Well, what i actually mean is getting the body off to fit the chip and then getting it back on was a pain...

I broke the retaining clip at the back of the loco getting the body off, but after about an hour i finally managed to get it back on. Tiny screws as well. Ugh! I hate having to brute force such a delicate model, but thankfully i didn't damage it any further and luckily the breaking of the clip doesn't really mean anything.

Think this one requires a bit of CV adjustment, its a slow runner like it should be, but i can't help but think it should move slower on 1/128 speed steps! Any tips anyone?

Last edited by Lexicaltje; 20-05-2018 at 07:56 AM.
Lexicaltje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2018, 10:07 AM   #24
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,035
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

Canít help DCCwise but I have the loco and it should run very very slowly, an inch or so per minute.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2018, 10:18 AM   #25
Mountain Goat
Unique Member.
 
Mountain Goat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK.
Posts: 2,285
Mountain Goat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Not sure about modern DCC controllers, but the older ones one was able to alter the speed curve settings. Also (For the few DCC decoders that had this feature. I'm told today most have but 15 years ago very few had) one is able to set the CV to limit the top speed of the locomotive.
I think many DCC controllers no longer have the capability to set speed curves? I say this as there was a move about a decade ago to simplify DCC as many newcomers were complaining it was too complicated to use. I can sympathise, as my Lenz system was said to be one of the most straightforward to use of the better systems, and even I need the manual with me! But to be fair, I so rarely use it that by the time I get to switch it on, I've forgotten everything and need to open the manual and start from scratch. (If I was using it frequently it would be second nature).
Mountain Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2018, 11:47 AM   #26
Lexicaltje
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 157
Lexicaltje is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkingthedog View Post
Canít help DCCwise but I have the loco and it should run very very slowly, an inch or so per minute.
It does run slowly, just not as slowly as I was expecting. My other locos run slower. I mean it seems to start on step 1 of 128 with too much power and then gently increases up to 128 where it is a slow runner as it should be, it just seems to move quicker than I was expecting with the lowest setting.

Have tried setting a speed curve of top voltage of 90 and mid of 60 but made it worse. Perhaps Iíll try 20 top and 15 mid or something.
Lexicaltje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2018, 12:34 PM   #27
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,035
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

There must be a way. My post was just to say that on DC it crawls imperceptibly slowly so should on DCC.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2018, 03:40 PM   #28
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,887
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

My Bachmann 08 uses the decoder default settings and is fine down to a very slow crawl.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2018, 04:36 PM   #29
Lexicaltje
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 157
Lexicaltje is on a distinguished road
Default

Maybe I’m just being picky. It just doesn’t crawl as slow as my 56XX or a few of my other locos. Fiddled with the CV’s this afternoon but couldn’t make it crawl any slower.
Lexicaltje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2018, 05:10 PM   #30
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,035
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

It is geared to travel very slowly. Must be a reason it isnít doing it. Can you try it on DC?
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.