Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Specific Gauge Topics > N Gauge

N Gauge N Gauge model railway topics

Old 08-05-2018, 09:25 PM   #1
oncomin5torm

oncomin5torm is on a distinguished road
Default New to N Point question possible dcc all round newbie stuff

Hello all, i'm new to this side of the forum, I feel like i'm cheating on my partner with only just deciding to model N based on my space available.

I am thinking of going DCC route as well, I don't know why but I just never felt like I wanted to with 00.

My layout will more than likely be in an 8x6 ft shed which should hopefully be bought in a couple of weeks.

I may not be able to afford the DCC equipment straight away as I need to buy track and at least 1 loco so I can have some fun running trains.

Also any advice on DCC controller? nothing too fancy but with future plans uncertain of how many locos and future tracks.

If I use electrofrog points do I need to wire them up differently to use them DC?

Plus advice for a beginner in N and beginner in DCC, I would probbly be getting a new GF class 4MT as the 3MT is constantly out of stock in most places.

I know quite a few people say N is too small for them, I also believed this until I saw the layouts people have produced, I also have a bit of younger age on my side, I hopefully have a good 20 years before my eyes and hands get too bad for N.
Hell might still be building this damn shed in 20 years knowing my luck.

I appreciate you guys giving a newbie like me the time of day

Last edited by oncomin5torm; 08-05-2018 at 09:33 PM.
oncomin5torm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 10:16 PM   #2
Steve M
Contrarian

Steve M is on a distinguished road