Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > Other


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2018, 03:16 PM   #1
Bigfilmguy
Apprentice Track Layer
 
Bigfilmguy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Black Dog Junction, Calne
Posts: 79
Bigfilmguy is on a distinguished road
Default Converting frogs

Hey all,

I'm going to be using Peco Setrack, which uses insulated frogs on points but I was wondering how easy it would be to convert them to live frogs instead. I've heard time after time that electrofrogs are the way to go, but I can't find any small enough for my layout. Could I cannibalize some spare track to alter them? Bear in mind, I'm working in N gauge and have very little experience, but any advice is welcomed.
Bigfilmguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 03:30 PM   #2
Steve M
Contrarian
 
Steve M's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rochester, Kent
Posts: 3,888
Steve M is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes you can convert them - by throwing the Setrack away and buying new electrofrogs.
Sorry if that’s harsh but it really is the only way.
__________________
I'm not arguing with you, I'm explaining why you are wrong.
Steve M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 05:05 PM   #3
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 8,275
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

I doubt in N, as in OO, any Live frog point will not be a direct drop in replacement for a Setrack Insulated frog point. Live frog Peco points are AFAIK only sold in their Streamline range which is to a much larger radius and footprint than Setrack.

Whether its worth the hassle of trying to remove the plastic frog and fit metal rails it its place I serious doubt!

My club uses Streamline Insulated frog N gauge points without issues. But what N Setrack are like I haven't a clue! Sorry.
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 06:24 PM   #4
4VEP
Hornby Collector
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Rye East Sussex
Posts: 624
4VEP is on a distinguished road
Default

This YouTube contributor suggests a method


https://youtu.be/eXLPSpilpDE

He uses foil, but on N gauge I think I would try conductive paint. This method does not require rewiring the track for electrofrog since a small gap allows the point to continue to function as an insulfrog.
__________________
Railway Modelling is about life, the universe and everything.
4VEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 07:31 PM   #5
Walkingthedog
Part time idiot
 
Walkingthedog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: HAZLEMERE, Bucks
Posts: 10,059
Walkingthedog is on a distinguished road
Default

Iím not convinced by this method. If it worked well it would be common practice.
__________________
NURSE,the screens!
Walkingthedog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 10:05 PM   #6
Sol
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Australia
Posts: 90
Sol is on a distinguished road
Default

You could cut out the plastic frog & replace with metal rail but it would be very time consuming & rely on good practices and a fine touch with soldering iron, etc so I do agree with others, replace them with standard Streamline turnouts.
__________________
Ron Solly

DC is good - so is DCC - it depends on your operating process.
Sol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 10:29 PM   #7
Bigfilmguy
Apprentice Track Layer
 
Bigfilmguy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Black Dog Junction, Calne
Posts: 79
Bigfilmguy is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the replies everyone, I think that I will try and adjust my layout to incorporate Streamline points instead of Setrack. Some flexitrack may be needed to make the track geometry work, but I think that may be the best way forward. Luckily, I haven't bought track yet, so I've got time to tinker a bit.
Bigfilmguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 11:47 AM   #8
Footplate1947
Eternal Optimist
 

Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Cumbria and Scotish boarder.
Posts: 1,905
Footplate1947 is on a distinguished road
Default

Well done.BFG, I think you have drawn the right conclusion to go for the proper points. A lot less messing around in the long run. John
__________________
I may be wrong as I very often am. John
Footplate1947 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 11:54 AM   #9
Flashbang
Administrator
 
Flashbang's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE UK
Posts: 8,275
Flashbang will become famous soon enough
Default

Don't forget that when fitting an Electrofrog (live frog) point you should fit two Insulated Rail Joiners to the two Vee rail ends of the point. Then if necessary add additional rail feeds after the point. Failure to fit the two IRJs to a live frog point and there is a feed anywhere beyond the point will result in a short circuit occurring!
__________________
Broken? It was working when I left it!
Flashbang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 03:16 PM   #10
Bigfilmguy
Apprentice Track Layer
 
Bigfilmguy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Black Dog Junction, Calne
Posts: 79
Bigfilmguy is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok, so I've updated my track plan and changed the layout slightly so I can incorporate Streamline Points rather than Setrack. I've now got six sets of points, with 4 being for switching lines.

I know I need IRJs on the Vee ends of the points (Thanks Flashbang!), so would 12 IRJs be enough to operate the layout or do I need more? If it makes a difference, each point will have a power feed at the toe end, and the flextrack between the two sets of joining points will have a power feed. Additionally, the rest of the track has feeds every other piece. Obviously 12 is only for the points, I know I need more for isolating sections.

I'm not planning on installing point motors yet, so I was going to add polarity switches at that point in time. Given that, do I need to do any extra wiring for the points, or will the IRJs be enough?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Calne Central Streamline.jpg (115.0 KB, 13 views)
Bigfilmguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.