Model Railway Forum

Go Back   Model Railway Forum > Model Railway Construction > Wiring & Electronics > Analogue


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2017, 10:31 PM   #1
Blue Pullman
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Worcestershire
Posts: 39
Blue Pullman is on a distinguished road
Default SEC digitol 4 controllers

I've been given one of these to investigate if it works.
There are 2 wires in and two out and other research shows they will be16 v ax in & 12 v dc out. I don't know which and don't want to ruin it
The longer set go to the reverse forward switch and being longer would seem to go to the track. The shorter set go into the circuit board.
Any ideas??
Blue Pullman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 10:36 PM   #2
scratchbuilt
Senior Member
 

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 228
scratchbuilt is on a distinguished road
Default

TRy

http://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/ind...r/#entry538899
scratchbuilt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 11:27 PM   #3
Blue Pullman
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Worcestershire
Posts: 39
Blue Pullman is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi
Yes I'd looked at that but it's quite dated, also doesn't mention the wires.
The good thing is it seems a quality item
Thanks
Roger
Blue Pullman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 08:28 PM   #4
Gordon H
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 48
Gordon H is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Pullman View Post
The longer set go to the reverse forward switch and being longer would seem to go to the track. The shorter set go into the circuit board.
From this description, it is clear that the 'longer' wires would go to the track, as they would not go through such a switch if they were the power input wires.
Gordon H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 02:13 AM   #5
Mountain Goat
Senior Member
 
Mountain Goat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK.
Posts: 1,523
Mountain Goat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

They look nice things. I remember a Scalespeed at a club. It was a neat little panel controller. At that time I had a H&M3000. Remember them? Overkill as it was a single track controller.
Mountain Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 11:24 AM   #6
Blue Pullman
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Worcestershire
Posts: 39
Blue Pullman is on a distinguished road
Default Which wires?

As no one seems to know I decided to test with 16 volts from my trusty clipper as advised the longer wires did nothing and the shorter brown wires did at least light the power on? light. On my meter no volts so today I'll risk applying the output to a loco in case it needs a power draw. When I turned it up there was a hum from the clipper and the light went out!
Blue Pullman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 11:27 AM   #7
Blue Pullman
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Worcestershire
Posts: 39
Blue Pullman is on a distinguished road
Default

To Gordon H
I agree seems logical but no wish to blow up a good controller -although it's probably full of asbestos and not the safest electrically!!

Last edited by Blue Pullman; 12-08-2017 at 11:28 AM. Reason: Direct reply to responder
Blue Pullman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 02:14 PM   #8
Mountain Goat
Senior Member
 
Mountain Goat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK.
Posts: 1,523
Mountain Goat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Is there a way of looking at the internal workings of the panel controller to check to see which end is the input?
The input would have a form of converting AC to DC usually in the form of four diodes. If you can clearly identify these then this is likely to be the input.
Best check with someone that knows more!
The output end one will usually find transistors depending on the controller.
Flashbang has some lovely circuit diagrams of various controllers. Even if they are not the same as yours, the basic input end should be similar, with some sort of rectifier usually in the form of the four diodes which the ones I know are black with a silver stripe at one end. These devices let current go one way and stop it flowing in reverse, so when an AC current is fed into the controller, these devices will convert it into DC.
I hope this helps.
Mountain Goat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.