Model Railway Forum

Model Railway Forum (http://www.modelrailwayforum.co.uk/index.php)
-   Wiring & Electronics (http://www.modelrailwayforum.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Wire up PM1s in series? (http://www.modelrailwayforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=12414)

BigTed 21-08-2017 07:49 PM

Wire up PM1s in series?
 
Hullo.

I'm plodding on well with the old point motors, but have a question.

I have 3 or 4 instances on the layout where it's sensible for 1 switch to throw 2 points. I was advised to wire my Peco PL-10s in series and that seems straightforward as they have 2 switch inputs and 2 common returns.

I was hoping to do the same with some Gaugemaster PM-1s I have and also a PL-11 I have for where I can't fit in a motor.

But both the PM-1 and PL-11 only have 1 return output so I can't see how I'd wire 2 up in series.

Am I missing something? I'm only a beginner at all this electrical stuff.

Tinker 21-08-2017 08:20 PM

You could use a Double Pole Switch

chris_db4 21-08-2017 08:48 PM

You will be wiring them in parallel not series so you are just making joints into same wire coming from the switch and I'm sure FB will be along momentarily with a full explanation

Flashbang 21-08-2017 08:51 PM

Hi
Not in series they won't work well if at all.
Best is to wire each motor directly from the same switch or passing contact lever. Run two pairs of operating wires from the switch of roughly the same length to each motors coil. Then connect together their returns. Use 16/0.2mm wire minimum. You use the same switch contacts for both motors.
Otherwise connect one operation wire from one motors coil to the other, then do the same with the other coils. Parallel connect them. Ideally in either case the return should be a larger wire size.

Mike Parkes 21-08-2017 09:52 PM

If you have a capacitor discharge unit then, whilst definitely not recommended, they may work in series - I have done in the past as a pretty crude way of reducing the extent of diodes in a diode matrix.

BigTed 21-08-2017 10:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tinker (Post 137506)
You could use a Double Pole Switch

Ha! I am!

Will see how the PL-10s do in series, but the PM1s I'll use the extra connections on the switches.

chris_db4 22-08-2017 12:21 PM

Who advised you to wire them in series, especially when the feeling here is a parallel connection will give you the same result and work better

Walkingthedog 22-08-2017 01:02 PM

Surely you should never wire point motors in series.

BigTed 22-08-2017 04:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Walkingthedog (Post 137535)
Surely you should never wire point motors in series.

Perhaps - I think then I misread this post by yoU!

http://www.modelrailwayforum.co.uk/s...0&postcount=24

Walkingthedog 22-08-2017 04:24 PM

Yes you did. Connect in parallel not series. I didn't put that because I thought it was common knowledge. When I first used point motors I read about how to do it. No such thing s the internet then. You didn't actually misread my reply because I didn't mention series or parallel, you did what I often do, assume the wrong one. Story of my life :D:D


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.